Where I live


Advertisement
Published: January 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

champchampchamp

Where I live
I thought I would take this opportunity to mention where I actually live in London. I live on Champion Hill next to Denmark Hill in South London. I am roughly three and a half miles outside of Central London. I have a ten minute train ride into London and then I can either take the Underground one stop to campus, or on nice days take the fifteen minute walk along the Thames to get to school. In the photos there are a couple pictures of my room. I live in a rather good size single bedroom in a dorm for about 500 students. Students vary from first years to grad students and there are about ten other Americans from here that I have found. One photo shows the window side of my room and the other is pointing towards the door. That is not the hallway, although it looks like it, rather my closet is outside of the bedroom if you will to the right and on the left is actually a sink. I have wireless internet in the dorm which is great and I also have a dining hall. The food is not that bad and helps me save money
room 1room 1room 1

Window view
in at least one area. There is also a squash court here, a library and even our very own little bar just down the hall and around the corner for students to partake in a study break if needed! I had my first week of classes which was great and all of my classes look like they will be very interesting. Now that my schedule has sorted out my friends and I are already looking into planning some trips. The near future will not contain anything too big as I have classes and they are five days a week. However, there should be some brief excursion within the next couple of weeks. I trip to Rome has already tentatively been planned for early March after my birthday with more plans to be ironed out tomorrow which will be very exciting. I have not done too much more sightseeing since the last post. Went to the Tate Modern Art museum which was fascinating. Managed to see Pat last night for dinner and drinks after which was very nice. I will try to update tomorrow night once I have some plans made and to talk about the day which includes a very
room 2room 2room 2

view looking towards the hall
very big football match of Manchester United versus Arsenal which everyone is very excited about. There is some talk about the NFL here including apparantly in my dorm an all night viewing of the Super Bowl which should be quite interesting with a kickoff at approximately half past midnight. Till tomorrow hope everyone is well and I will be in touch soon.

cheers
Dave

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb