The stag party.........arrrrrgggggggghhhhhh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Covent Garden
September 21st 2009
Published: September 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well as I mentioned to you all in one of my English corners it is important that the groom has a 'Stag party'
My friend Tom's party was last Friday and I spent a lot of the week organising it. In the old days a stag party was usually held the night before a wedding and the groom, best man and his friends would go to the local pub and drink lots of beer and simply walk home. However it has now become BIG business all over the world. We were pushed for time and therefore we had to hold it just over one day.

Nearly all of the people attending came from London so this seemed the natural choice.

I left my small quiet respectable village at 11:00 a.m on Friday morning and came back 11:00 a.m on Saturday morning......a changed man!

The day started off with a James Bond 007 speedboat ride down the river Thames which was really excellent and also included a guided tour about the history of the Thames, although the real fun was flying down the river and jumping over waves in a tiny little boat and very very quick speed.

After that it was time to have the first drink of the day. For some reason we seem to think that it's really important that the groom gets very drunk on his stag party. Unfortunately my friend Tom isn't a big drinker. As a result of this the best man (me!) usually receives lots of criticism from the other guys (light-hearted) and is therefore forced to drink any of the drinks the groom doesn't. I knew this was going to be a very long day.

After that we went to a special indoor golf centre where we played golf and yes......drank more beer!

Then it was off to a restaurant for food. It is common to make the 'Stag' do something which is very embarrasing and I had bought a small item of clothing to wear. It is called a 'Mankini' basically it is a bikini for men! It was awful and we made our friend change into it and then dance down the street! Oh dear!

At this point I saw some Chinese excahnge students and impressed them with my singing of 'Tonghua' as you can see the evening was getting out of control.

The rest of the evening is a little unclear, there were more bars and obviously more drinks and then off to a nightclub to dance like idiots for 4 hours. When we finally came out of the nightclub it was light outside and the only thing to do was to get into one of the really REALLY REALLY expensive taxis that were waiting outside.

I took my friend back to his home and delivered him safely to his wife. I had completed my task as best man. To make sure he had a great time and to deliver him home!

The next day (Saturday) was very painful and it is only today (Monday) that I feel as though I have recovered from the experience. The next step was to take a look at the damage to my bank account. I nearly cried when I saw it lol......oh dear this kind of thing only happens once in your life (I hope)

My next responsibilty comes on Saturday and the wedding. Fingers crossed.

I took disposable cameras to the party and I'm waiting to have them developed. I will then decide if any of the photos are suitable to put on this website. I'm not sure they will be.

Best wishes and miss you all

Paul


Pushed for time = don't have a lot of time
Lighthearted = not serious

Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0912s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb