Docklands & Canary Wharf


Advertisement
Published: July 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I ventured into Eastern London, Canary Wharf. This is the Wall Street NYC area of London that is beginning to really boom in the economic world. There are skyscrapers (well, sort of, for London at least) and underneath the shiny buildings is mall after mall and shop after shop. The point was to take my High School Skills class on a field trip. Uh yes, I took kids from Dubai, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Germany, Spain, and Texas on the train and the tube. Interesting to say the least. We first visited the Dockland Museum. How you must wonder, did we tie this into our class??? Well, there was a Jack the Ripper exhibit which was gruesome. And of course a scaled model of the Old London Bridge which tied math into the trip. Then we found a couple of metal geometric figures (shown in the pictures) and began a discussion on triangles and angles of course. There is always a way to make it work. Then we went shopping and spent the afternoon trying to navigate the concourse of shops and restaurants. This was all of course "research" for the trip I am sendning out on Saturday to the same place. Writing an itinerary without having ever been to a place is really rather poor planning so I figured exploring the area first couldn't hurt. The son of a "lord" is in our class and of course was the only one who lost his train ticket. Royalty yes, common sense, no.

I feel like I have been here for a lifetime. My job is beyond ridiculously busy ... yesterday consisted of students handing in trip request forms. I now allow them to sign up with 5 friends so that they are happy. Well, Nasser Al Nasser decided to sign up 9 times (with 45 of his Saudi friends)! This of course caused me a headache which I have yet to escape.

The little Narnia-like world here in Thorpe is of course my favorite place in the world. Tomorrow I will be back in London to see the Sound of Music. Saturday I will see off my trips in the morning and then off to Stratford-Upon-Avon for hopefully, an afternoon of solitude. My mobile will most likely ring about 20 times with lost chaperones (yes, they are worse than the kids), late kids, late coaches and the like. I may just decide to turn the thing off.

Miss you all!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Docklands and Canary Wharf 010Docklands and Canary Wharf 010
Docklands and Canary Wharf 010

Kids acting drunk in an exhibit
Docklands and Canary Wharf 013Docklands and Canary Wharf 013
Docklands and Canary Wharf 013

My class on a huge chair
Docklands and Canary Wharf 028Docklands and Canary Wharf 028
Docklands and Canary Wharf 028

The gemetric men ... learning angles and triangles


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb