to see the queen


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Bloomsbury
April 27th 2006
Published: April 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I made it! one long long flight it was though in the last row near the crying baby. I've spent most of my time here riding the tube (london underground) which was, from the airport, disapointingly above ground. Met up with Dan at the hostel and since then we've been all over the place, zipping around on the tube. We really haven't waited more than 60 seconds to get on, it's quite impressive.
Yesterday we went to Hyde Park, which reminds me a great deal of Central Park in NYC (but that's because the New Yorkers based it on this park). Saw Buckingham Palace too, with these huge highly elaborate gates everywhere, walked around the whole thing (on the outside). I even saw an old lady coming out of one of the doors near a guard and thought it was the Queen (this remains unverified).
Picaddilly Circus was interesting to see, these huge detailed statues of horses were very impressive and we ate dinner nearby.

I didn't bother setting my alarm last night because I figured hey, it's a hostel and everyone will be up and about it'll wake me.... wrong! Turns out the aussies I'm sharing a room with
On the London EyeOn the London EyeOn the London Eye

See Big Ben in the background?
have been here for the past month and have been doing restaurant work in town... and they start work around 4pm. I was up and about by 1, went out to see the Tate Modern, which was slightly under renovations, unfortunately, and over the Millenium Bridge, which my guide book sort of makes fun of but I found it very impressive. There are pictures, worry not!

We did lots of walking around after that, and I started getting blisters...but had left my bandaids at home. Luckily, I know how to improvise; I used a 50cent Canadian stamp instead of a bandaid to stop where the sandals were rubbing! Clever, eh? Dan swears people kept looking at my foot, but I figure this way they'll know where to send me back to in case I get lost.

The hostel is fun, has it's own bar, so tonight we might get some pints there after going out for a dinner of fish 'n chips. Talking to Ben, one of my Aussie roommates, he told me that in Australia they put lemon on their fish, as they do in Canada, but here they think that's strange and use only vinegar. Interesting.
StampStampStamp

While backpacking, a stamp works well in place of a bandaid when absolutely necessary, and shows where to mail you home.

Fish and chips and vinegar... pepper pepper pepper salt - Sharon, Lois, and Bram.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Shakespeare's Globe TheatreShakespeare's Globe Theatre
Shakespeare's Globe Theatre

To be or not to be... an obvious tourist.
Millenium BridgeMillenium Bridge
Millenium Bridge

Very impressive bridge (not completed in time for the year 2000 celebrations, but a valient effort all the same)
Bench seatBench seat
Bench seat

Jet-lagged, right off the plane, yet still smiling. It's my vacation, after all!


27th April 2006

Clever use of postage
I'm reminded of a classic Woody Guthrie song. I wouldn't have posted this, but you started it with the Sharon, Lois and Bram quote. ;) "I'm a-gonna wrap myself in paper, I'm gonna daub myself with glue, Stick some stamps on top of my head; I'm gonna mail myself to you."
28th April 2006

dude!
Hey sista! I'm totally jealous, but happy that you made it there safe and sound. Have tons of fun. Rooming with Aussies eh? yummy accents! later kiddo.
28th April 2006

sharon, lois, and bram
don't throw your junk in my backyard, my backyard, my backyard one bottle of pop, two bottle of pop, three bottle of pop, four!
28th April 2006

London eh?
Hey andrea, It's great to hear that you're in london, england and not here. It sounds like you're getting a good feel for the city. The tube (the subway) in london is the best I've ever seen. So while you're in london you have to go to the National Gallery and go to the Church on sunday from 11-4 to drink fosters
29th April 2006

London
never thought I'd get to visit London....seems like I'm there with you. What an awesome trip. What a awesome woman you are! Can't wait to see the pictures. Brian doesn't think he can write to you from "his" computer but wants to say Hi and he's handed over the Supreme Travellor Reins (temporarily). Have fun and take care, Love Norma
7th May 2006

You did it!
Hey hunny, I'm glad to hear that you made it be safe and have a ton of fun. I'll be checking in on you to see all of the things I'm missing out on....I know I shoulda saved a long time ago. Love you.

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0917s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb