Kit Out (Part 2)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Blackheath
January 20th 2010
Published: January 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Lamina 35 in Mesh BagLamina 35 in Mesh BagLamina 35 in Mesh Bag

If I get bored with mesh bag, I can make some nice stockings out of it...
More Goodies!

Tuesday I got a call from Alex at Itchy Feet to tell me that they'd got my sleeping bag in. So I went down to pick it up. Alex was just as helpful and friendly and knowledgebale as Nir was (see Kit Out!).
It's amazing how little sleeping bag there is (considering it's supposed to keep me comfortable down to about minus 2 degrees). It comes in a mesh bag (which is what you're supposed to store it in to stop the fibers from getting combressed). It also comes with a "stuff bag" which is what you stuff it in! It collapses to a really small size. Most impressive. And it fits nice and snug in the bottom of my hiking pack.

I also took the opportunity to get myself some convertible trousers. Basically, you unzip the legs and they become shorts. Kinda useful I think.

Also arriving yesterday was my new netbook. I've had a play with it and, honestly, I'm not sure that it's going to do the job for me. Ubuntu is fine, as it goes, but there are so many things that I'm having problems with in terms of getting it working that I'm
Lamina 35 Sleeping BagLamina 35 Sleeping BagLamina 35 Sleeping Bag

Snug as a bug in a rug. The black thing on top is the "stuff bag" that it comes in. Yep, it packs down that small.
sorely tempted to go back to Windows. Well, I'll let you know what I decide.

Sorry that I didn't write anything yesterday. I got a little way through this post and then came down with a really nasty stomach issue (you don't really want the details) which knocked my out for the rest of the day - I even had to cancel my Spanish lesson 😞

Today, I should finally be getting my vaccinations - hopefully there should be no issues because of my sickness yesterday.

Well, I have to catch up on some things because I was out of action yesterday so I'll keep today's post short.

Adios!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Lamina 35 Stuffed in a stuff sackLamina 35 Stuffed in a stuff sack
Lamina 35 Stuffed in a stuff sack

...and then stuffed in my trek pack. Even room for my mosquito net and sleeping bag liner down there!
MESHMESH
MESH

They may have awful customer service, but you get what you pay for. And this is a cheap netbook!
Hot Pants!Hot Pants!
Hot Pants!

Unzip to form shorts. Although, apparently, nobody ever wears shorts in South America (unless they're playing football, I guess).


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb