A Girls Worst Nighmare


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Gloucestershire
September 13th 2006
Published: September 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok, Now lets get down to the nitty gritty

As this is my first post, i think it's important that I get a few things off my chest before this whole "look at us, we're going travelling" thing gets out of hand. Therefore, before we've poured our hearts out over all the magnificent places where we're going and what crazy, once-in-a-life-time things we'll be doing (in an attempt to get all of you green with envy) its important that all you fellow bloggers (in particular the females) realise what an epic this next year will be for me, and you should all feel very sorry for me.

For no longer will I have my endless resources of expensive hair products, my masses of makeup, shoes, clothes or handbags, nor will I have my full length mirror to spend hours pondering over how I may kit myself out for the day. Oh no, I won't have any of that, in fact, i'm being made to choose a few bits and bats to take with me instead, pah!. For me, this is hell, and at the moment I can't see past it and I am currently seeking therapy for this (i.e buying tonnes of celeb mags to see what they recommend as essential travel item). However for Ben, he takes sheer pleasure in reminding me that what I do take I will either end up ditchin, therefore I must remember not to take anything I want to keep (i know, it's ridiculous) and that anything I do decide on taking, I will have to carry on my back at all times. It stinks I tell thee!

Ok, take this for example, when I stareted uni and was moving into my digs, I was petrified at the thought of not having the essential items with me that I may need, so I insisted that not only do my parents help me take my stuff down there, but they also filled their car to the brim, as well as my car, with ALL the stuff belonging to me, in order to recreate my bedroom back home to exactly as it was. Voila!, we managed to move my entire bedroom, pictures and all, 150 miles away to Derby, sorted, and I loved it.

So now I'm faced with the tough decision of choosing exactly what i'll need over this next year, and to be honest, I don't have the foggiest. Will I take my jeans and my black trousers? or are my jeans too heavy/bulky? shall I take my black stilettoes incase we have a night out in Sydney? or are they too much of an awkward shape to fit in my backpack therefore I should stick to flats? Urgh, its horrible and typing it makes me feel sick. 😞 sniff.

But hey, I guess we all have to do one thing in our lives that makes us take a step out from the tedious monotony that can become of our lives, and for some people, taking a backpack stuffed with old clothes isn't such a mean feat. But for me, forget the shark diving, the abseiling and the sky diving, the biggest hurdle for me will be sacking all of those ever so important amenities, like concealer and thickening spray, and learning to live life without spending an hour each morning trying to get myself looking decent enough to go out in public, as from now, I guess that'll be a thing of the past!. Until next time....... J x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb