Airborne again


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Gloucestershire » Gloucester
January 22nd 2014
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 51.8667, -2.24867

Up with the alarm at 5:30 and down to breakfast for their opening at 6:00.
I check-out and leave the guest house just before 7:00 and take a taxi from the main road at the end of our Soi. The traffic seems worse than ever this morning as he drives all over the place trying to avoid queues with little success. We are inching along and time is passing all too quickly and I fear for a late arrival at the airport. We finally break through onto the expressway and are on the way to Suvarnabhumi.
I check-in just after 9:00 and go straight through immigration and security checks and make my way to Gate G4 where the plane is waiting. Had brought a book to pass the time but it is not needed. Phone Jai to make sure she had arrived back in Khamnadie and say my goodbyes then a quick snack before boarding. Rubbery cheese and rubbery ham sandwich. If they hadn't been different colours I wouldn't have known which was which !
Board the plane, take my seat and we are airborne about 30mins late.
Uneventful flight apart from what now seems to be the usual turbulence as we pass south of the Himalayas. Stock up on a few bottles of wine and snacks.
I have a bus booked to take me from Terminal 5 at Heathrow to the Central Bus station at Terminal 1-3 at 18:30. When we don't land until 17:40 and then have to wait before we can depart the aircraft I am starting to worry again that I will miss the connection.
Pass through immigration and stand ages waiting for my bag to appear on the belt before making my way to the bus station at 18:25 just in time. A 25mins transfer via Terminal 4 then I have another wait of 1 1/2 hours for the connecting bus back to Gloucester. It is really cold sat waiting and I have opened my suitcase to put on a few more layers. At least the bus is nice and warm.
Get back to Longlevens about 22:45 and 10 mins later am sat drinking a nice hot cup of tea.

Blog will now be put on hold for a couple of weeks but will resume upon my departure back to LOS.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb