Australia versus Italy


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex
June 26th 2006
Published: September 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It was tough getting up in the morning, but surprising school went alright. I got home from school in time to watch the soccer, Australia versus Italy. Poor Beck couldn’t get out of work. Italy looked dangerous until half time, but it was still 0-0. When one of their men was sent off it gave us a great chance, but we couldn’t capitalise. With 3 seconds left a penalty was awarded to Italy for an excellent dive. This was one of many during the game by the Italians. I felt sorry for Lucas Neill who I feel epitomises how Australians play sport; hard, but fair, without any fuss, and of course well. He handled it well though I think. The commentators laid the boots into the Aussies and Hiddink after the game with the advantage of foresight, which I found really annoying.
I was disappointed for them, but it was still a great effort. I would have fancied our chances against the Ukraine, and to make a semi-final in the World Cup would have been huge. Hopefully they can build on this and continue on in four years time.
As long as soccer doesn’t come close to taking over real football - Aussie Rules back home.

June 27th
The kids at school were really good about the Aussies getting knocked out which was a bit surprising. I was expecting a lot more stick than I got. I had a good workout at the gym which made me feel good. Our wedding DVD arrived from Reens today, and it was great to be able to watch it. It is only five months ago, but Beck looks so young, and my hair is so short and styled! Reens has done a great job, so much so that we both suffered strong pangs of homesickness after watching it.

June 28th
I didn’t stay for the staff meeting after school. They aren’t getting me to come in on a training day (pupil free) to save money so I don’t feel like I owe them anything. Instead I went home and did reports (!!), before going to the gym.

June 29th
I got up early and rang Rhino for his birthday. This made me feel homesick especially since Brooklyn is due soon.
It was a sports day at school. The staff conned me into going in a 600 metre race, and I was beaten by a Year 8 student who is 13 years old. I didn’t run a very smart race as I wasn’t expecting any real competition. Either way I’m not sure I would have caught him, bit embarrassing. Apparently he runs for Esex, he must run for someone! The kids gave me a bit of stick, but it was a really good day.
Beck stayed at Kate’s as they are going to Wimbledon tomorrow.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.339s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 26; qc: 114; dbt: 0.122s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb