Australia versus Croatia


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex
June 19th 2006
Published: November 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I didn't have the best of sleeps, which led to me struggling through the day. I was very tired and snuck out of school right on 3. I tried to get a nap in, and I wasn't interested in the gym. Beck had an even longer day than me. I did manage to finish off exam marking in preparation for reports.

20/6/2006
I did go to gym today, but I didn't have much motivation, feel a bit flat.
I watched the England versus Sweden game. Barracking for Sweden for two reasons:
1. I want to see England versus Germany (huge rivalry).
2. Ammunition at school.

21/6/2006
I stayed back at school to input results for reports. I don't have a strong understanding of the levels and process, but I got it done and then caught the train home.
I went to the gym, before we all went out for dinner for all you can eat Chinese. We are celebrating Kez finishing her exams, just one year to go now for Kez. The food wasn't bad, and I liked the concept.

22/6/2006 AUSTRALIA versus CROATIA
Beck and I were both worried where we would manage to watch the game. Being telecast on BBC 3, our fear was that we wouldn't find a pub televising it.
After school I had to stick around for a 18.30 meeting about the Ardeche, the school camp Beck and I are going on. Colin and I watched the Czech Republic lose to Italy in the Careers Library. Then I went and got my first fish & chips from a shop in England.
After the meeting Ruth gave me a lift home. Beck had discovered that the Queens downstairs was televising our game. I was pushing it for time, I got changed and then flew down the steps.
I had a pint of Fosters in hand as the national anthem started. In the bar there was Brasilians up one end watching their game, there was English locals in the middle, and Beck and I propping up the other end.
The start couldn't have been worse going 1-0 down almost straight away. It was such a relief when we equalised.
The Brasilians were oohing and aahing, and generally carrying on up there end of the bar before Japan opened the scoring. The English lads in the bar went crazy singing and dancing, and generally taking the mickey out of the Brasilian fans who were mainly girls.
I was starting to relax when Kalac let in a shocker. A few different locals came and spoke to us at different stages supporting us. Everyone has been so good to us, but they really run down the area they live in.
By now Beck was nearly making more noises from disappointment than the Brasilians even though they were singing and chanting as they had gone 4-1 up.
We punched the air and high fived when Harry equalised. Was he offside? If he was I think it made up for the second deliberate hand ball from them. The locals were nearly all watching our game now. It was all happening. Red cards, 1 each, and then disbelief at two yellow cards, but no red was produced. It was an English ref and the locals were tearing into him. The third yellow card finally led to a red, and the end of the game was a relief.
I'm obviously biased, but I think it was one of the best games so far. Would have made for a very long day at school tomorrow if we lost, thanks boys.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.299s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 28; qc: 112; dbt: 0.091s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb