Skirmish.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex » Billericay
March 31st 2006
Published: April 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I was going to put this entry with the last one, but 'Ali' the man behind TravelBlog had an entry from Billericay so I thought I'd include my own.

It was up early again today even though the holidays are here. Some of the staff had organised paintball or skirmish, and I was on board.
I rang Ravi and Matty to make sure they got up in time, but I couldn't get on to Matty. However, Matty was up when Ravi and I pulled in to his drive, but both of the boys were a bit dusty this morning. We got to school late for the organised time of eight, but we were still there well before some others who were obviously still shaking off the merriment of the night before.
We didn't get to paintball too late, and we were split into two teams. Ravi insisted on wearing body armour much to the disgust of the manager of the place.
My team lost the first game, but I didn't get shot. I snuck around the back and shot the last two members of the other team, but I didn't realise the paint doesn't always burst so they ran through with the flag to our base and won. In the second game I got shot, although it didn't hurt, and the other team won again. Head shots don't count, which is lucky for Matty, as I hit him in the head so many times over the day (doesn't hurt).
The second game involved getting a barrel across a bridge. This game was more fun. In the first round I got to the barrel and moved it a little bit, before I was shot. The second game I picked it up and ran with the barrel, which apparently is against the rules.
The last type of game involved carrying barrels back to your base. My team was awesome at this, and we got every barrel back to our base in both games. We then stopped for lunch, before playing all the games over again with the same results as earlier being reached.
The last game was a bit different though with Ravi having to wear a dress and fake breasts as punishment for wearing body armour. For some reason they tried to con me into being his partner, but John L. volunteered, which saved me. The rules were shoot Ravi and John as much as you could before they surrendered. After they had surrendered it was back to the original teams and it was last person standing. Matty and I were the last two, and we both ran out of bullets/paint while we were shooting at each other, so we called it a draw.
At first I didn't think the paint balls hurt that badly, but the ones that bounce off you without exploding leave a decent bruise. All in all it was a good day, good for staff to build relations.
On the way home the plan was to meet up for a couple of beers, but the phone call never came as the night before had caught up with them.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb