Hard earned holidays!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex
March 27th 2006
Published: April 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

School was surprisingly good today, and although I was tired I got through the day without any dramas. Beck said the same thing with the golf shop.

28/3/2006
Beck and I were both actually more tired today than Monday. It's cruel how sleep deficit catches you when you think you have it covered.
It's a bit embarrassing, but I cooked for the first time in the UK tonight, it was a mean spaghetti and Swedish meatballs all the same. You would have been proud of me Mum!

29/3/2006
I had actually been dreading today, or more to the point tonight for over a week now. Parent/Teacher evenings aren't exactly a blast at the best of times, but when you have to sit with someone who has a completely different philosophy to you on education, then it is taken to a whole new level of suffering. It was a relief when I got out of there at about 19.30.
When I got home I made a concerted effort to ring all of the relatives in the UK I had numbers for. Aunty Lena thought I had got lost in transit, and had trouble understanding my accent from the message I left on her phone. She had a good chat with Kerrie, and when I spoke to her we organised to do lunch at their place in West Horndon on Saturday. Uncle John and Aunty Betty in Cardiff were good as well, and we are planning to go and see them for a weekend in early May.
Cherita was good as well, and they aren't far away in Colchester, so we will organise a time to see her and Gerry in the near future.

30/3/2006
My favourite day is even better today as it is the last day of term. Not bad, holidays after three and a bit weeks work. After school there was a bit of a celebration for the school's re-designation as a language school. This equates to a lot of money.
They ran a raffle with prizes, and my ticket was drawn out second. There was a selection of wines to choose from, but they were all Australian (!), so I grabbed a champagne bottle. Peer pressure caused me to share it with everyone, which was a bit of a waste as it was drank in a rush.
Ravi dropped me off at home, and arranged to pick me back up at seven. For the end of term break up we are going to T.G.I Friday's for dinner in Basildon at The Festival and Leisure Centre. The locals call it Bas Vegas, and it is a lot like Knox at home.
Beck caught the train and a cab from work to meet up with us for dinner, but the meal was just average. After dinner everyone headed to Jumpin' Jacks, but Ravi, Matty, Beck and I went to Fusion for a beer, as Matty sometimes works there.
An interesting fact, if you drink Stella Artois over her you are called a 'wife beater' (!?), in jest, but apparently there are statistics to support this claim.
Jumpin' Jacks proved to be very quiet, so we met up with the others at Chicago's. The music was pretty good, and was more like what my mental picture of a UK club was like.
I had put my hand up to be the designated driver (I'd only been working for 3 weeks after all) of Ravi's car. We didn't get away until stumps though, which made for a late night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0834s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb