Bound for Port Phillip Bay


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex » Billericay
July 17th 2010
Published: July 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The last day of my holiday 😞 It's gone so quickly and it will be hard heading home tomorrow.

I've returned to England from the Spanish leg of my trip with a golden tan and a belly full of lovely food!

The reason for my trip - Silvi & Paul's wedding - was absolutely superb. Set in the gardens of a boutique hotel the ceremony was conducted in English and Spanish... and when Paul was speaking.... sometimes Spanglish (This of course is untrue.... Paulito - you did a brilliant job)! There weren't too many dry eyes after the ceremony. Silvi was determined not to shed any tears.... we know how impossible for her that was to achieve.

The food was absolutely amazing! We were standing in a courtyard sipping cava and course after course of gorgeous tapas was being served... every one of them was a delight to behold... and then we were asked to take our seats at the dinner table next to the swimming pool... I think I'd already blown a gasket... not knowing there were so many more courses to follow! But I managed to find it within me to not be impolite!

Menorca is a beautiful island with stunning clear waters, craggy cliff faces and lovely people - and the beaches are only marred by the number of other holiday makers getting their rays of sunshine. I also exercised extreme control in not purchasing an enormous number of shoes. Menorca is a shoe mecca! Knowing that I only have a limited luggage capacity and weight limitations... they were the items I could really have gone overboard with.

Those that even know me vaguely will know that I can barely write a report without throwing in a few stats! So I won't disappoint!

Number of airplanes boarded: 10
Number of times I've had to pack my bags: 21
Number of items lost: 2 (soap including it's container and my precious silicon earplugs)
Number of kilometers cycled: approx 500... I may have taken a few 'detours' here and there either planned or unplanned! But for two weeks cycling - that's a very low number!
Number of new people met: 30+. It's hard to say really.... this number doesn't include the likes of the "Derry Men" or the sheep farmer who proposed to me within the first 5 minutes of meeting him in Glenbeigh.
Numbers of Guinness's drunk: +/- 100.... again it was hard to keep track!
Number of times I thought I'd expire due to the heat: +/- 100
Number of times deliberately restraining myself from purchasing another pair of shoes: +/- 100

So that's it for this journey my friends. Thanks to everyone who sent messages and comments. It's great to hear from people at home.

I'm bracing myself for the cold weather at home - but will be looking forward to a lovely pot of tea and some cooler weather to sleep in (lordy lumpus it's been hot sleeping weather) and naturally my own bed! It goes without saying too that I look forward to seeing my buddies again! For those of you that I work with... naturally I've been thinking about work constantly and am curious how my new role at work will go. For those of you that I don't work with.... you know that that last sentence was utter bullshit!

So on that note of vulgarity I'll sign off until my next adventure.

Adios amigos

Ange



Advertisement



18th July 2010

Looking forward to seeing ya
Ola Angelita, Thanks for all the wonderful posts. Can't wait to catch up for a tan walk - you complete with tan. Hazel is nearly up to joining us sans mountain buggy! o x juz

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 64; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb