My Adventure Begins...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon
September 23rd 2006
Published: November 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

My Bags Are Packed.My Bags Are Packed.My Bags Are Packed.

The morning that I left home. It was a beautiful morning. As you can see the back pack is fully loaded and ready for action!

Roland Tarver's 4.5 Month Adventure Began on the 23rd Sept 2006



Hi All,

In August 2006 I handed my 4 week notice in at work; I had decided to go travelling for a spell, 4.5 months to be exact. This will represent the longest trip I have done in my 27 years. That said, longer trips are planned for the future - at some point.

Anyhow, on the 22nd Sept I said good-bye to my family and some very close friends and found myself on a bus to London for a flight the next day. This was a very exciting time for me. I love the anticipation of a trip. Brillant.

My trip will take me to the following countries, in order: Hong Kong; New Zealand; Australia; Thailand; Vietnam; Cambodia and Laos.

Why did I choose these countries? Hong Kong was a 4 day stop over, just breaking the flight up. But it was definately worth a visit - I loved the time I spent there. I did, however, arrive at a conclusion: If it ain't flashing, blinking or making a noise it must be broken!!! The electrical power the city must get through must be huge! Ha! Also, I must admit, I was pleased to see some "green" once more!

Why New Zealand. I watched Lord of the Rings once to often? Well perhaps. I was in New Zealand (my first time in 2005). I absolutely loved it then. Defiantely my sort of thing. Basically I fell in love with the place and when I returned this time (2006) it felt like arriving home. Which I guesss speaks volumes.

Why Oz. In actual fact I was not that interested in visiting Oz. It was on my list but quite a long why down it. However some very very good friends were going to be in Oz about the time that I was in NZ. They talked me into a 6 weeks excursion in Oz. Currently I am still in NZ, but I am sure that I will have a great time their, exploring a small part of the huge country.

Why SE Asia. I wanted a really good adventure. I wanted to go somewhere where nothing came easy and everything was a little more "on-your-wits". Also, I had heard a lot of great things about these countries and was keen to have a look.

Right, well, there's something of an introduction. I have included a few "point of departure" shots with this entry. More soon.

Have fun, cheers Roly



Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb