Stop Over In Hong Kong


Advertisement
Hong Kong's flag
Asia » Hong Kong » Hong Kong Island
September 24th 2006
Published: November 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The City That Never Sleeps.The City That Never Sleeps.The City That Never Sleeps.

This photo was taken at 9pm on a Sunday night. I was amazed just how busy it was, for a Sunday, it felt like a Monday Morning. There wasno let up either! At about 11.30pm the volume of traffic and people began to die down.

A Few Days Looking Round Hong Kong



At the start of my trip I had 4 days looking around Hong Kong. This was my first time in HK and it was brilliant. The fist day or so I was still full of the excitment to finally be off and into my big trip and I was looking around this incredibly modern and frantically busy city.

I had a bit of fun finding my hostel when I first arrived. Actually I found the place easily, but when I got there the door was locked and I could not get in!

Eventually a security guard in the building (not related to tghe hostel) said to try a different building. Which I did. As it turned out the people that owned this hostel were in another hostel that they owned just over the street.

When I got into my room the view from my window was.......urban. (see photo)

I was looking round HK late at night and was amazed just how busy the place was. Just below my room, at street level, there was a guy that was still selling newspapers at 3am! Nutter! Go to bed
Downtown Hong KongDowntown Hong KongDowntown Hong Kong

This is your typical Hong Kong street. It was, amazingly, late at night again. During my time walking through streets like this I came to my conclusion that is it ain't flashing, moving or making a noise then it's probably broken! Even at night time it's amazing just how light the city is. The dfinately get through the electric! Ha!
Eeediot!

Anyhow, the building in HK are the most impressive. Some of the most impressive that I have ever seen. They are all so tall and so numerious. Although HK certainly has a central business district, it's suburbs still support many many (it has to be thousands!) of 50 to 100 story high buildings. These are soley used for living quarters, they are not owned by huge coporations or banks or computer companies - they a just for people to live in. Ha! A crazy vista!

During my time in HK I went up Vistoria Peak (I'm sure all tourists do this) for a night time view of HK. THis was fantastic and well worth doing. Also, a day time trip would be a good option as well.

I went to victoria park (near causeway bay area) to get a fix of things non-concrete colour. (I grew up in the country. Ooo Arr!).

Also I walked around downtown HK at night time at watched all the buildings light up.

I also paid a visit to the awesome HK exhibition centre, right on the water front. This was brilliant. As it happens about 4 weeks later
The Hong Kong Convention CentreThe Hong Kong Convention CentreThe Hong Kong Convention Centre

This is one of the most impressive buildings in HK. It's Awesome. I wandered round the inside as well. And that too, was equally impressive. This building has featured in several major movies and TV productions, Nice.
I watch a Jackie Chan Film that featured this impressive building and it was quite cool to see it ont he bug screen, having been there just a few weeks ago. Nice.

I also went to see an old temple in Kowloon when I was over there. This was quite cool, though did not hold too much intetrest for me. The same was true of the "heratige trail" that I went on this was not very good really. I did see some old temples and ancient village walls but the entuire area had been enguffed by a virtual slum (certainly not top end accommodation). There were packs of stray dogs roaming the streets and children that obvioulsy did not come from families that earned very much money.

ON my final day I took a star ferry to a small island. It was called "Lama" island. I is a lovely little spot and I did a 1 hour walk, at the end of which I got the ferry back to HK island from the islands northern ferry port. I did stumble on to a georgeous little beech. It was about 300 M long and near perfect. Only the whoppign
Sunset Over Hong KongSunset Over Hong KongSunset Over Hong Kong

The Sun may be setting but don't let that fool you! When the sun goes down on this city it has none of it. Hong Kong turns on all it's lights and you'll hardly notice the difference! Ha!
great power station spoils the view. Ha! I cannot believe they let them build a power station where they did. Hopefully I'll be ablt to upload a few photos.

After HK, it was on to Auckland New Zealand. YES!!!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb