The consequences of throwing scallop on the barbie...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Dartmouth
June 16th 2010
Published: June 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, we haven't begun our trip yet, but in the glorious sunshine on the Dart and the fact that both of us have already finished work in our heads, we may as well have begun our adventure.
Tonight we decided to do an upmarket BBQ to trial our newest purchase again - a lovely stainless steel boat BBQ which has more than a passing resemblance, in my opinion, to a UFO.
I procured king scallops, parma ham, tuna steaks fresh fruit and salad on the way home and lovingly prepared parma ham wrapped scallops on kebabs with huge chunks of mango and pineapple.
I would like to tell you how succulent and juicy this culinary delight was ... however, I never even got to eat it! As Mike traversed to the bow (boat word for 'front' dontchaknow!) I heard a big bang, a gentle stream of profanity and was informed that the BBQ had 'slipped' and the kebabs were 'gone'. Further prompting revealed that 'gone' meant 'at the bottom of the Dart'.
I won't lie to you, I was devastated. There I was, having visions of usurping (that one's for you Norm) Nigella and co for the culinary crown and my efforts had been reduced to fish food. Gutted.
The feelings of dismay were greater expounded when Mike washed down the ash from the bow and noticed that there were a few scorch marks on it. He learnt the hard way to check that the barbie is secure before commencing cooking. I learnt to cook in the grill in future. Fortunately, the tuna steaks escaped unscathed and were delicious!!



Advertisement



17th June 2010

amazing seagypsies
well my darlings when something goes wrong just keep going .Mike will check from nowon that the barbie will be secure so please double check on saturday xxxxxxxxxxlove you two

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb