Adjusting to life in Derbyshire, UK


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Derbyshire
February 22nd 2009
Published: February 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived safe and sound in the UK Friday afternoon, after some 22 hours in transit from Australia. The plane journey flying QANTAS was surprisingly good, despite being stuck in a non-isle seat from Australia to Hong Kong, however things only got better from then on! I had an entire 3 window-side seats to myself from Hong Kong to London, which allowed for ample sleeping space, and quality viewing of High School Musical 3 (its a tradition, I've watch #'s 1, 2 and 3 all whilst on the plane!!). Other than having a young British male trying to befriend me during the early stages of my flight from Hong Kong...nothing else really happened. This young guy wanted to make friends just so I could help bring his excess alcohol into the UK for him, as he was well over the limit!!! Thankfully, I wasn't going through customs at Heathrow, as I was off to the 'new and exciting' terminal 5 to fly out to Manchester!

After a packed flight to Manchester, I waited for my friend Caz to collect me. It was great to see her and a familiar face, after being in transit for so long! It was about another 60 minute car journey to Caz's house, in the country Derbyshire town of Wirksworth. Trying to stay away by this stage was becoming a challenge!!

I spent Saturday and Sunday exploring Wirksworth, shopping in Derby and just relaxing. I even got out running both days too! The countryside around Wirksworth is pretty, and the town itself is very quaint, with its old church, steep narrow roads, pubs and yummy bakeries! The weather was fairly good too, with temps around 10C during the day and even pockets of sunshine!

All good so far, and looking forward to going to Nottingham on Monday!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Views from the High Peak TrailViews from the High Peak Trail
Views from the High Peak Trail

Looking towards Cromford, Matlock Bath and Matlock (I think!)


Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.089s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb