Evolving ideas....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
February 24th 2009
Published: February 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Nottingham CastleNottingham CastleNottingham Castle

Outside the castle, with the Robin Hood statue in the foreground
Monday was spent traveling into Nottingham City to meet with agency staff from Hays Education, because I was planning to work as a 'supply teacher' for the next 3 months in Derbyshire. The meeting was ok, but I was really surprised that the agency had not really dealt with an 'international'. I started to feel that I would not be well supported should I go on to do supply teaching. I had spent since November last year preparing for this with the agencys' Australian base. There was huge amounts of paperwork, forms and references to be collected. Worst part was having to list where I had lived these past 10 years....no mean feat when you have move 10 times, and spent periods of time living abroad too!!!

In all, Monday was a long day, with public transport taking around 2 hours each way, but considering the distance I was travelling it was well priced, at around $11- AUD! Before the meeting I wandered around Nottingham, walking along the Canal, to Nottingham Castle and Market Square. It was a busy city...like Derby. I wondered whether the financial crisis was actually real...as everybody seemed to be 'shopping' and were carrying loads of stuff! Nottingham certainly appeared a very vibrant city, and a nice place to visit.

I spent Tuesday 're-thinking' why I'd come to the UK. Maybe feeling a little homesick, I explored other options for this trip. Most of all....I felt like I just needed a holiday, and I needed some time to relax and enjoy life before getting stuck into work! I don't think I really realised until now how busy I made my life back in Australia!

Since arriving in the UK my mobile phone had been unable to send text messages...which was starting to get to me....after a few calls to Vodafone Customer Service the problem was solved....at a cost of over $31- AUD (I later found out) to call them from here using a fixed-line phone in the UK!!! Lesson learnt: don't call Vodafone Customer Service whilst overseas....not only is it expensive, but you also get to speak to Egyptians (a change from Indian's, I guess!) who waste your time on the phone so it costs you more.....!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Nottingham CastleNottingham Castle
Nottingham Castle

Sadly, I ran out of time to go inside...another day, perhaps!
Market Square, NottinghamMarket Square, Nottingham
Market Square, Nottingham

View of the Town Hall from Market Square


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb