Big Red is not well


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Derbyshire » Derby
March 10th 2008
Published: March 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Apologies once again for the long time since a travel blog has been published. I have a tale of woe!!!

After heading to the 6 Nations England - Italy game in Rome, Big Red decided that she would start to weep oil from the dip stick tube. In Italy, I got a garage to change the oil and I don’t know exactly what grade they put in. They also fixed a leaking diesel injector and replaced the small tubes that link them. They cleaned around the injector with some spray and washed it down with water. The injector does not leak anymore. However, when the camper is under load (I drove over the mountains to Rome) the oil was leaking out of the dip stick tube. I thought this may be the wrong grade oil so topped it up with my 10W40 Castrol GTX Diesel and kept on going. Oil was being sprayed all up the tailgate as I was driving but I assumed that this was just residue from the pan underneath. Making a bee line back to the UK I topped up about twice as the oil light would flicker when I turned right around corners at speed.

Getting back to the UK a did a full oil change with the correct oil and made a fix to my dip stick as it was loose at the end and I thought the oil may just be siphoning out when the camper was under load. I prepared for a journey up north and drove 20km under normal load and found no leaks other than a small drip at the dip stick handle. I thought it was fixed. The next day I drove 100km under load up the motorway and had to pull into the services as the oil light started to flicker again. Getting out of the camper the tailgate was covered with oil and the engine tray was full and dripping. The AA man could not see any oil at the front of the engine. It looked as though it had all come out of the dipstick over time. I was taken to a garage and the engine cleaned. New oil put in and no leaks evident when running. Unhappy with the diagnostic, we took the oil filler cap off to check for heavy breathing. When revving the engine, a handful of oil comes spurting out of the oil filler. They checked the breather tube at the top of the engine which is clear. It looks like an Engine rebuild is on the cards as the garage guys have said they think the piston rings have given way. Oooops!

Other than that, my journey back to the UK was great. I stopped off at several of my freinds houses and drank lots of beer.

My first stop was to Assisi. The town is on a lovely hill with a beautiful castle. The sun was shining and the atmosphere was very laid back. I then headed to the Alps for 1 days worth of skiing. Stopping in Sauze- D'oux. I managed to get hire of all the gear (pants etc...) very cheaply. I then headed to see some freinds in the middle of France. The change in landscape and peaceful way of life is breathtaking. I really enjoyed my stay as it was the first time I had a full roast lamb since Christmas. Yummy. Needless to say the wine and beer was flowing also. As I was under a time constraint to make the Eurotunnel, I had to head off north. It would have been lovely to stay a little while longer. I popped in to see some more freinds a little further north. I was taken out to lunch in a silver shadow roller. Wow... I felt like royalty. The 'castle' that they live in is superb and the grounds are beautiful.

Thank you very much to all my freinds who have looked after me in my trip back to the UK. I very much appreciate it.

Getting back to the UK was a bit of a blow. I got stopped at the Eurotunnel where Big Red was searched by dogs. I wish they would not have let me back. I then got stopped by VOSA heading north. Luckily Big Red passed their very quick inspection.

I also stopped off in Brighton and had another lovely meal and a tour round the town. Thanks very much for the hospitality!!!! It was lovely to have a pint in the local pub. This is certainly one thing you miss when travelling abroad.

I headed to Liverpool to sort out some paperwork and now I am back in Derby wondering what to do with Big Red. I think I will strip her down and give her some TLC. Hopefully she won't cost too much (even though the garage estimate is 2200 GBP!!!). I think I should get a job ASAP to fund it all.

I hope everyone is well. Thanks once again to everyone who has helped me, looked after me, fed me, housed me and bought me a beer. I will never forget the kindness you have all shown. It certainly has been a trip of a lifetime.

Write soon,
Dave and Big Red.




Advertisement



11th March 2008

Big Red
Welcome home to Blighty ! Does this mean Big Red is up for Sale ?

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb