Why Worry When I'm Such a Careful Driver (Honest)?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria » Keswick
January 12th 2020
Published: March 22nd 2023
Edit Blog Post

Derwent WaterDerwent WaterDerwent Water

Sunset near Keswick.
You may have noticed that I am really into my photography and it can sometimes take over the holidays, much to the annoyance of my poor “photography widow” wife, who is actually very patient and tolerant with me. This holiday, however, was just me, on my own, going on a photography workshop in Rannoch Moor in Scotland.

I had decided to drive up, so to split the 470 mile journey I stopped for a night in the Lake District. I had always thought that the Lake District was a long, long way north, but it’s actually only half way to Glencoe, where we will be based on the edge of Rannoch Moor.

After several miles of signs warning about speed-cameras, I was not far from the Lake District, when I saw a flash of light in front of me. I don't know why I was worrying, because, of course, I'm a conscientious and careful driver, but it was a relief when the two weeks had past and nothing had arrived in the post. It must have been the low but bright sun, behind me, reflecting in something momentarily as I drove past.

I was spending this first night
Room For OneRoom For OneRoom For One

Sad and lonely in my room for one - but all I needed.
in a village called Braithwaite just outside Keswick. It was winter and the days are short, so that and my conscientious driving, meant that the sun was already setting when I arrived in Keswick. I decided that I would start the photography early, so I headed straight to the edge of Derwent Water and got some photographs of the boats, the lake and the setting sun.

It was then on to my hotel to spend the night before completing the rest of the journey to Glencoe. I had a very small, sad, lonely room for one, but which was good enough for my needs.

It was also a lonely meal for one in the restaurant. Pie and chips - excellent.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Pie and ChipsPie and Chips
Pie and Chips

One reason that I was still full when it came to my Full English the next day.


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb