CYCLING IN THE ENCHANTED LAKES & MOUNTAINS OF LAKE DISTRICT - CONISTAN WATERS


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria » Coniston
May 24th 2017
Published: May 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Electric bike

I was passing through and came across Electric bikes and ended up hiring it from John from http://www.cyclinginthelakedistrict.co.uk/.

John convinced me to hire the electric bike and he was right. I had great time discovering the joys of electric bikes. I had at that stage given up on cycling as it was becoming too arduous to keep climbing the never ending rolling hills of UK. There is never any flat lands as such and so riding for a hour makes it so hard to return home through the same hills back. When I got on the bike I was sceptical but then soon discovered the whistling-winds whizzing past my ears while I effortlessly dashed-over that daunting-hills of Cumbrian mountains helped by the little
Bosch's battery-power.

I hired the Trek Powerfly 5 electric bike from John. I had a great time cycling around Coniston waters and that put a big smile on my face. The electric bike was just marvelous in helping me pedal the bike with its four different levels of power - Eco,Tour,Sport and Turbo. I was able to go further than I could have ever achieved by simple mountain bike. I covered up to 35miles in just 2 hours - all uphill roads in Lake district which I would have never have been able to climb in regular bike.

CONISTAN WATERS

Conistan is one of the smaller lakes of several lakes in Cumbria. I cycled along the lake to visit the Brentwood. This was the home for the philosopher John Ruskins who was one of the most influential thinkers and shapers of the world in early 1900s. His residence was in the Brentwood country-house with great views over looking the lake. The vibrant gardens around the house are a veritable delight to discover in hidden trails which suddenly opens up to an open space where one can relax after the climb. The tour of the house provides a lovely insight of the 1900s world.


Additional photos below
Photos: 53, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 22; qc: 81; dbt: 0.1083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb