Land's End


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cornwall
April 29th 2005
Published: April 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Narrow BackroadsNarrow BackroadsNarrow Backroads

Here is another typical shot of the roads I travelled. 90% of my trip was on backroads 2 lane roads such as this one.
Heading back east along the bottom of the boot toe, I made my way through picturesque fishing villages. I saw a sign for Prince Harry’s Ferry. Instant detour. I always go out of my way for ferrys. Notable among the coastal town was the port city of Fowey. What a charming place! The roads in the old part of town are barely 8 feet wide! Beautiful. I continued eastwards through the Dartmoor National Park. As soon as I entered the park a shroud of mist enveloped me, giving the moors a stark spooky look about them. I loved it but, I didn’t love the 40 MPH speed limit. I sorta went faster than that.

Continued eastwards until Sherbourne where I nabbed another hotel room. The next morning, the weather was still holding up. I timed it perfectly as, the TV news said Land’s End was receiving bucketfuls of rain. I love it when a plan comes together. Heading off northwards now, back towards Nottingham, I stopped by Stonehenge for a few quick pics.

Still continuing north, I couldn’t resist going through the Cotswolds one more time. Beautiful countryside dotted with fairy tale villages. It’s easy to see why the British bike industry never saw a need to build a more powerful mill. The torquey twin suits the tight twisty English back roads to a T. From the Cotswolds, it's back home to Nottingham. I drop off the bike and make my way back to Birmingham for my morning flight to Saudi.

mileage: about 1000 miles in 4.5 days.
cop sightings: 1
gatso sightings: 2 (they were these spooky looking things like something out of the prisoner TV show).
pucker moments: 0
wrong turns: 25







Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb