Day 52 - now very hot in Nantwich.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cheshire
July 6th 2013
Published: July 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

0 locks, 275 in total.







My goodness it's been a scorcher today – first day this trip that you could feel the sun burning your arms. Consequently I have spent as much time in the boat as out; bow



and stern doors open as well as the side hatch and curtains drawn on the sunny side, we just about kept the temperature bearable.







We took Hattie for another river swim, shopped and then motored a few hundred yards to the service area for a pumpout. There was a mooring spot fairly close so we took this and joined our fellow boaters in having a relaxing sort of day. A number of permanent cruisers do not venture out at weekends – as one told us 'that's when the SAS are out and about' – meaning the weekend hirers! (Saturday And Sunday – keep up!) I did the next lot of undercoating and 2 hours later the first topcoat – not sure how successful this will be as the paint was almost frying as it touched the steel boat. I'll put the final coat on after
Pictures of Hattie retrieving her decoy.Pictures of Hattie retrieving her decoy.Pictures of Hattie retrieving her decoy.

I took a video which shows her galloping and jumping into the water but there is a site problem with videos at present - sorry.
tea this evening.







We're now moored next to a Sweet Shop narrowboat – all the traditional sweets of my youth were there in jars, plus choc ices, cold drinks, etc. The man also made fenders and I spent a fascinating 15 minutes watching him. He used a tool called a Swedish fid – about 9” long and like a long thin garden trowel. He inserted the pointed end between the knotted rope on the fender and was then able to thread the end of the rope through the channel of the fid and make the next hitch. This was pulled tight and then hammered into the correct plsition with a rubber mallet. The fid would make rope splicing very easy too.







I'm trying to find mitigating circumstances for this next tale and I think I shall blame the heat. There are showers here and also a laundrette so I thought I'd kill two birds with one stone - shower and hair wash whilst the washing was in the machine. I loaded up with everything I needed – dirty washing, money, soap powder, key for the facilities,
shampoo, conditioner, flip-flops, comb, shower gel. As I started washing my hair I remembered - no towel!







It's nearly 6pm now and there's a welcome breeze so at least we'll be able to have a walk this evening – the Nantwich Basin beckons. We'll probably stay here tomorrow as well if this weather continues.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Looking south from the bridge....Looking south from the bridge....
Looking south from the bridge....

Shroppie and our mooring on the left, short canal arm to Nantwich Basin on the right.
I just can't resist this horse again.I just can't resist this horse again.
I just can't resist this horse again.

He's made of large chunks of timber from old boats and possibly locks. The mane and tail are iron. There is quite a lot of 'art on the cut' - sadly only a few pieces really capture the imagination.
Thread rope through.....Thread rope through.....
Thread rope through.....

....then half-hitch and really tighten.


7th July 2013

hot day
It's the same here and again today. Don't get too hot - and at least the weather was on your side when you forgot the towel! I'm really enjoying your pictures and tales, thank you. S

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb