Half Term Break


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Cambridge
October 30th 2010
Published: October 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So this past week has been half term break so we havent had the chance to work. FINALLY my criminal reference checks have arrived. Just because its me, the first one I originally requested months ago showed up yesterday in Canada and the second recent one my agency requested showed up here today. Somewhere, someone is having a laugh at me. Is saying 'having a laugh' British?
So I hope HOPE! that I will work this week. Colin and I have signed up with a second agency to have a better gaurantee that we will work often. So I will let you know how that goes over the next couple weeks.

On Monday with celebrated the 5th year of our courtship together. : - ) (Remember I am reading about the Tudor era so using words like courtship make me feel fancy.) We went out for a nice dinner at a restaurant called Brown's. The food was good and the company was decent...just kidding. I took lots of pictures!

Colin did work one afternoon this week at the nursury again. AND he was with the babies! Putting them to sleep and giving them bottles! I was soo jealous...except the part about the baby that puked down his shirt.

As this weekend in Halloween Colin and I are going to carve some pumpkins to make us feel at home. I don't know if kids will come knocking on the door here but we will see. We might try to catch a ghost tour if they are not all filled up...we were walking around last night, down by the colleges... and it can be quite creepy...




Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

SheShe
She

Notice my lovely new apple necklace to compliment my apple charm.
The Tram StopThe Tram Stop
The Tram Stop

Potato Jackets are Popular!
Floor TombsFloor Tombs
Floor Tombs

All the churches have these old tombs in the floors.


30th October 2010

Nice photos
Hi Jen and Colin: Nice to see your photos. Looks like you are fitting in with the British like you have been there for years. I did sign up for you blog but for some reason I am not getting it. Uncle Mark gets it but not me. What do I need to do to get on the list? When are you going to Windsor Castle? You will love it. Henry is buried there with his favorite wife. Just like the pictures his tomb is in the middle of the floor in the chapel. There are lots of other famous tombs there as well. Quite a few recent tombs like the Queen Mother and Princess Anne. James and Emily just left us here at the cottage. Uncle Mark and I are now going for a nap. We love their visits but we are exhusted once they leave. I played hide and seek for an hour straight. They are somewhat ready for Halloween. Emily got an adorable lamb costume and James got a dragon costume that he is terrified of. I think they are going to have to rethink his costume as there is no way they are going to get it on him. Emily tried it on and James was terrified. Sandra-Lee and I did a St. Annes spa day yesterday. The guys had given us a gift certificate for Christmas and we just got around to using it. It was spectacular! We had lunch two treatment a stretch class and then afternoon tea with scones and clotted cream it lasted all day, we arrived at 8:30 and left at 5:30. There are eculyptus saunas, hot tubs and plunge pools. You will have to try it when you get back. I bet you Mom would really like it. If you would let me know how to sign up I would appreciate it. I enjoy seeing your pictures. Take care, Love Aunt Sandie

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb