Cambridge UK


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Cambridge
November 12th 2007
Published: January 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post


So with a little bit of spare time, and a nice kiwi that I met along my travels, I decided to head off and explore greater England. Cambridge was less than 2 hours away by train yet seemed worlds away from London. We had managed to visit during the quiet season, and as a result it took us a day or so of wandering the streets to actually bump into anybody. A bit of a ghost town this time of year...

We stayed in a hostel, that was more like a B & B with no B.

I spent 2 days exploring the streets and admiring the achitecture of the colleges. I imagined the famous scholars that had once studied or lectured there, and what it would have once been like to study at the uni with no comupters or internet.

The visitors punting on the river was a cute site to see, although it was too cold for me to go anywhere near the water.

It was here that i realised how quickly the sky was becoming dark. As while shopping at 4 o'clock in the afternoon, it was dark like night.

I could tell this winter was going to be cold....brrrrr.....



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.456s; Tpl: 0.041s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.3847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb