Heading Back to Ghana...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Berkshire » Reading
January 28th 2012
Published: January 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

If I am lucky there will be no power cuts and the runway lights will be on and this time no one will think I have a dead body in my suitcase (resus doll). Yep I am heading back to Africa, this time Ghana...

I am returning to Ghana for a week, on arrival I will stay in Accra for one night and then travel to Takoradi with Gideon - my Ghanaian colleague and will meet Mike there a few days later , here at my destination my internet connection may be almost impossible therefore my blogs may be sparse.

My assignment here is to provide first aid training to staff. On speaking to a volunteer coordinator at First Aid Africa earlier last year she gave me some sound advice. Teaching the population how to recognise the signs and symptoms of dehydration is one the most important things that any of us can do in terms of life-saving in sub-Saharan Africa. Dehydration is a sign/symptom of many fatal diseases including malaria and cholera.

I have been working on improving and adding information including dehydration to the course so it is now more Africa Specific.

Wish me luck on my next adventure...

Lisa



First aid Africa is a volunteer organisation, great for gap year students and career breakers. Volunteers are taught to teach first aid (no experience necessary) and then they are sent out to East Africa to teach first aid to people in rural villages, in 2010 around 15,000 people in Kenya, Malawi and Tanzania were trained in first aid thanks to First aid Africa. The course has also been recognized and awarded by the Red Cross.

If you wish to find out more about volunteering for such a fabulous organisation contact Sam Abrahams www.firstaidafrica.com/news samabrahams@firstaidafrica.comand tell her you got her details from my blog.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0921s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb