Home Sweet Home


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Berkshire » Reading
April 15th 2011
Published: April 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Goodmorning everyone,

1 hour and 20 minutes ago my plane landed and I am finally home in Twyford getting ready to go to bed and catch up on some sleep.

As I arrived at the airport in Accra I was told to go to customs so that they could check my bag, just as they had in Nigeria, my thoughts were "oh god dont open it, I had to sit on it to close it in the first place" although she opened everyone elses bags she took one look at me and said - you are good, you may go. I thanked her, although fully aware of what a good girl I am 😊

I headed through to the departure gate, they had placed all of the BA passengers in one line and forgotten about us so two lads in front of me started calling for help and then they let us through the scanners where I recieved a bodysearch....

Those that know me well know that I love airports, that I love to watch where people are going and what they are doing - I find this facinating. While sitting in the departure lounge I got chatting to a scottish lad, he told me that he was excited to be heading back to Inverness as he was going to propose to his girlfriend, he hadnt seen her for 2 months and really missed her. I asked him how he was going to do this and he told me that he visions her running over to greet him and he will run to her then drop on one knee and propose - how romantic, I hope she says yes!

Whilst reading the travel section of the Times news paper there was an article about how to get either upgraded or "almost" upgraded. An upgrade is near on impossible unless you know the right people in the right places but it suggested the right way to book a seat to get that "upgraded feel". Normally I book on the wing as the flight is generally less bumpy there but on this occasion I decided to give the advice a go, it advised to book right at the back of the plane. When check in staff check people in they start from the front of the plane and work backwards therefore there is more of a chance of spare seats to stretch those legs. I sat in my seat 38A and another guy was sat in 38C we both thought the same thing and we watched like hawks to check if anyone was coming, we joked about the use of hazard tape on the spare chair too. Then as all the doors closed we saw that next to us was a full empty row so I said to him - move now quick!!!! and he did 😊 I can safely say that both him and I managed to stretch right out and lie down as if we were in posh class and get a few hours kip. lush. AND to top it all off when I arrived at the UK Border Contol I accidently walked through fast track (it wasnt until I got to the counter that I realised it was fast track) but I smiled confidently as if i was meant to be there and no questions were asked and I left the airport rather quickly.

I made it home in time to see Joe go off to work and feed Baggy and now I am off to catch up on the rest of my sleep.

have a good day

L xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 14; qc: 37; dbt: 0.0857s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb