Kiev


Advertisement
Ukraine's flag
Europe » Ukraine » Kiev
September 21st 2010
Published: September 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

After spending 5 months in Asia, I decided to visit Ukraine, the place of my birth, before meeting my family in Istanbul and traveling a bit with them. I didn't really know what to expect. I left Odessa, Ukraine 18 years ago. I've been back twice since then, but only to Odessa visiting relatives. Last time was about 5 years ago. So this trip is much more about discovering Ukraine then rediscovering.
Kiev. What a majestic city. I am pleasantly surprised. It's clean, efficient and has amazing architecture. The women are spectacular. Everyone is in great shape and dresses to impress. Such a difference with US. I spent 2 full days site seeing - I managed to see most of the major sites. Kiev is one of the oldest cities in Europe, 1500 years old or so - there is a lot to see. I was exhausted, running around the city trying to see everything. The city has a very nice feel to it. The center is quite compact and you can walk around. There are a multitude of parks and the river runs right through it.
The food and beer are amazing and cheap. A big bottle of beer from a store is about USD $0.50 - cheaper than bottled water. As for food, there is a great chain of cafeteria style restaurants called Puzata Hata - Big Bellied House, that sells Ukrainian food. It's to die for - I've been eating there almost exclusively - it's like how my mom used to make it 😊
A 0.5 liter beer in a bar is about USD $2. The beer is fantastic as well.
I love it out here.
Next stop - Kamenets-Podilskiy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 159, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb