Blog from Georgia


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
April 28th 2010
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 46.1445, 8.72654

We have seen lots of snow, and played in it. I have been tobogganing and yesterday I made a snow man. Yesterday we went up a mountain near where we are living – we went up by cable car then by ski lift, and it was warm at the bottom of the mountain (lots of pretty flowers), there was still snow at the top of the mountain. From the top of the mountain, we could see Switzerland (where we are), Italy and France!

I can't speak very much German, as we were only there for about 5 minutes – I know danke, kinder, and guten tag. But I am playing with my cousins, who speak only Italian – we played hide and seek and collecting grass to give to the daini (Italian word for deer). There are 10 deer that live out the side fo the house where we are living – I can see them out the window when I am having my breakfast (and from the toilet!!!) They are very friendly, but a little shy. There are two boy deers with really long antlers, and they like fighting with each other. There are some little babies and some female deers. When I was picking grass for them, I got stung by a stinging nettle, but it feels better now.

The village of Ronco is where my Dad's uncles and aunties live. It is a really little village and we can walk around it ourselves because there are no cars allowed in this village – the roads are far too thin for cars! You have to walk in single file on some roads! We have seen where the ladies used to gather to do their washing. The village is halfway up the mountain from the lake, called Lago Maggiore (which means the Big Lake). The view from our house is really nice – I can see Switzerland and Italy, as the Italian border is only a little bit further down the lake. There is snow on the mountains, and two nights ago, the full moon came up over the mountain and reflected on the water.

Love

Georgia

Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb