Working with Ama Waterways


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
October 10th 2013
Published: October 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

They say that a fish stinks from the head down and yet I know that within many organisations, it's not so often that the head takes responsibility for its body (unless of course, it's bonus time.) Why don't we have sayings for the head when the body smells fresh and sweet and like a beautiful perfume? That's how I look at my relationship with Ama Waterways.

A few years back when I started looking around to determine which line I would like to use for my river cruise trips, I stumbled upon Ama. Never heard of them? You don't get an acre of forest of promos from them like Viking sends out? Well, there's good reason that Ama doesn't fell a forest each year simply to fill their ships; they have one of the best repeat passenger ratios of any travel provider... and for good reason. As a privately held company, the owners put their guests first. From my first phone call to Ama several years ago, to my last email to my International Account rep, Doris last night... every single interaction with this company has been (and is) A+! Friendly, courteous, helpful, professional and willing to bend in order to make a customer happy (within reason, of course), my impression of the company is that they want to say "YES" before they say "Sorry, no."

That impetus comes from the owners, two of whom I am happy to know and be able to call my friends, Kristin Karst and Rudi Schreiner. Their experience in the industry, their commitment to their employees and guests have a guiding principle; luxury with a smile. In all my years in travel, I have never met anyone that is as dedicated as Kristin, nor as open and kind... I think it is her spirit that permeates the whole company.. from LA to Basel to each and every ship. This summer, as we sat on my balcony in Warnemünde and talked about the world of travel, the trips, the awards that Ama keeps winning, it made me very, very proud to be a part of this family.

There are countless ways to go on vacation and to see the world, but from an Ama ship (and/or pre and post tour) you feel as if you are seeing the world from a safe cocoon; a true home on the water. The staff know your name within hours of boarding... and they remember it, too. Twice this year I have gotten on board an Ama ship to hear my name being gleefully shouted as I walked from the gangway onto the ship. In April, it was Uwe, my cruise manager from my Danube 2011 trip... then followed by the Purser, Head of Housekeeping, and Hotel manager, Ratko, form my trip earlier this April through the Netherlands and Belgium. OK, OK.. I am a little hard to forget... but when people shout your name out with apparent happiness as you arrive...well, that is the kind of welcome you get at Ama. It is 100% natural as well.

This spirit extends to the bar staff, housekeeping, the desk, etc. Ama employees will stop what they are doing to engage you, to assist you in any way, to do anything that will make you feel at home and happy. Where, may I ask you, does that consistently happen in business today?

To Kristin, Rudi, Doris, Uwe & Ratko and all the other hard working team mates at Ama (including my friend in Basel)... I say thank you. I will keep selling you.. and thank you for taking such good care of my guests and making my job as a seller of travel SO easy! I will see the world with you!

Who else is coming?

Advertisement



14th October 2013

Love Ama
I haven't traveled with any other river cruise lines, but Ama has provided such excellent service and amenities that I have no desire to (possibly) waste my travel dollars by trying out another line. Please let them know they're doing everything RIGHT!
23rd January 2016

Looking forward
I have only enjoyed ocean-going cruising on Silver Sea and Oceana. I am very much looking forward to my first Ama river cruise. I had never heard of Ama until friends invited me to join a group of like-minded people who have the soul of an explorer as I do. I have devoured all of the available on-line youtube videos about Ama and I am impressed with the owners and the ships themselves. I am a huge fan of Silver Sea's all inclusive packages. I was told Ama is all-inclusive but from this and one other blog that appears not to be the case.
23rd January 2016

Mostly True
Ama includes all your tours and free flowing beer and wine at lunch and dinner, sparkling wine at breakfast, and plenty of extras at parties. You will be asked to give a € or 2 tip to your daily guides (your choice) and for crew at the end. What Ama has that no other line has are many optional and special edition tours at no extra charge, free bikes on board, a spa and a specialty chef's table restaurant at no extra charge. I have done 22 Ama cruises in the past 5 years. Most importantly and above all, the Ama staff treat you like family (and their repeat ratio proves it).

Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb