Shortest Blog Entry Ever (at least for me!)


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Zürich
October 14th 2013
Published: October 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

OK, I admit this may be a 'smart ass' toned blog entry, but everyone reading this knows me... so, here it goes:


Folks from across the pond coming to Europe who insist on going into a store and not comprehending why they won't take your US dollars... simple question... will you take Pesos?

Thank you.



OK.. I can't just stop. I heard some REALLY mind boggling comments on my last trip on the Rhine from people who really might want to consider international travel.

1. "My bank told me NOT to take my ATM card with me to Europe because it could be stolen." (This Einstein also did not bring any pin numbers for his credit card and was completely unable to get any cash anywhere). He thought he could use US dollars everywhere.

My response: Really?

2. "I don't understand why they can't just accept dollars and then change them at their own bank."

My response: What if your boss decided to pay you in a foreign currency and told you to hand deliver your pay check to the bank, pay the change fee, and like it?

3. "Aren't the Euro and the Swiss Franc basically the same?"

See my response to silly comment number 1.

4. "What do you mean they won't accept a credit card. Don't they want to sell something even for 2€ ?"

They do go on... but you get the point.



Ladies and gentlemen contemplating a trip to Europe. The very best way to "do the money thing" is to bring your ATM card, get a reasonable amount of cash in the country you are visiting from the ATM machine - this will save you change fees. Also, be sure to alert your credit card company that you are traveling and be sure to know your pin in case you have trouble with your ATM card (some networks can be tricky). This way you can always get cash. There are many stores and businesses, especially in Germny, that will not accept a credit card; and no one will accept a charge card for purchases under 15-20€.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.312s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb