Getting Started


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
February 25th 2011
Published: February 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Living RoomLiving RoomLiving Room

This is the living room of the apartment
Just getting used to using this thing... Seems interesting. Thanks to Mr. Will Hoff for finding it and making me aware of it.

Anyways, so I just passed through my first full night here, managed to stay awake until just after 12am and woke up at 10am so seems like staying awake for most of the travel time worked in my favor. Flights were good but long, ended up changing my watch 9hrs just before boarding the plane to try to get into the rhythm then did exactly what pops told me... watched a couple movies and tried to sleep for 5 hours (luckily the lack of sleep and amount of beer from the hockey game helped me get through that). Thanks dad.

Getting here, met up with Sabrinas cousin, actually went really well as he had a huge sign that read "Charles 'The Frenchman' God Nadeau". I figured that was for me.

Now that I am here, I am in what remains as probably the cleanest, most organized apartment I have ever stepped foot in. Check out the living room and the breakfast in the photos.

Anyways, last night we went to a friends house where
BreakfastBreakfastBreakfast

Woke up and this was waiting for me on the kitchen table.
there were a few other guys, I was served this delicious Swiss whiskey, and I think I might have made the guys night when he brought it to me no ice no mix and didn't ask for any. That was the ticket. Had a couple of beers there and then went to a pub in this small town. A pub that Blake would appreciate. After a couple of rounds or beer and jager, we got to playing some foosball and bet a round of jager on it, needless to say the game was down to the wire but I pulled out the victory with a guy named Charlie (insert joke here). Then we went on down to the basement, where you had to walk behind the bar through a door, past the kitchen, down a skinny flight of steps and around the corner. It was like going to The Max but half the size with the same amount of underagers. Hilarious. We actually all ended up down there and after a couple of rounds of beer (and jager) we ended up just talking about different things that are different in Switzerland vs Canada. Everyone was pretty interested in our customs and discussions went from everything to liquor taxes to government to cultural identity. It was quite the conversation to be having considering where we were (in a basement in a pub). There was also a dartboard upstairs that some older guys were playing on... Needless to say I did not try, they were actually dominating. Not just playing Cricket like Chris and I either ... They were playing real darts.

I also tried to learn German (failed miserably) which led me to being tutored on how to order beer. The waitress spoke no English but she was cute and thought it was funny. I was ok with completely embarrassing myself.

Anyways, plan for today is to walk over to the train station at some point, dominate the public transit system in a country that I don't know the language and English instructions are difficult to come by, then meet up with Andreas and Katharina (whom we met diving in Dominican) and tour Zurich. Then off to the airport to pick up Stokes!!! I am wicked excited. Caesars will probably be drank tonight (which reminds me, I mentioned Caesars as a good morning after drink last night, and the guys, got confused. Clamato needs to expand. Caesars need to be available throughout the modern world).

Anyways, I gotta get to my day hopefully when I push publish all this works and I don't have to retype anything (time to give the ol ctrl+c just to be safe).

Advertisement



25th February 2011

Pops
Charles, good to hear that you are having a good time. keep blogging to keep us up to date. Say hello to Andreas and Katharina from us here at home. (Dad works for me more than POPS)!!!!!
25th February 2011

Ein bier bitte.....
Morning :) All you need to remember is Ein bier bitte und danke :) Ich liebe dich ( Love you) Schuss (bye!) Big hug have lots of fun your nouna xo
25th February 2011

Drinking Game
Stoked on this blog, nicely done pal. I would like to bring it to your attention that I will be having a drink every time you say the word 'Anyways". You may choose to exploit this rule however you may wish. Best of luck over there, stay safe.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb