Switzerland


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
September 28th 2008
Published: September 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On our way to FranceOn our way to FranceOn our way to France

Getting ready to take the ferry to Evian.
I have been in Europe for over a month now but starting a blog seems rather convenient, so now to update everyone! I left home on August 12th and made my way over to Switzerland to see Salome, my swiss friend who did an exchange at my high school! Switzerland is one of my favorite places EVER because it is just absolutely gorgeous!

I stayed with Salome's family and we were able to take a ferry over to Evian, France for a day and a 20min train ride to Germany just for ice cream! We took the train all over Switzerland to visit the big cities, the Roman ruins, castles and Salome's old high school. I'm summing up waay too much because we were absolutely swamped with fun touristy activities the whole time! Salome's friend, Julianna and I went to a Roman Bath! It was amazing because its a natural hotspring with Sulphur (sulfur) 😊 and everything. It was very relaxing.

The next day we met up with Salome's friend Sandra and back packed through the Alps! It was amazing! There's this one bridge you have to cross and I totally felt like Indiana Jones! (humor me! It was swinging and everything!). We stayed at the mansion turned hotel (in the servants quarters. ha) and did some more hiking the next morning and then hiked down. It was amazing to see the glacier since it will unfortunately be gone within the next couple of years and it was exciting to be hiking in the mountains again, as I am an outdoors enthusiast 😊 The food up there was interesting... We brought a lot of our own food but decided to have some warm supper there. I tried some veal (was vegan before leaving the states... didn't eat much of it...) and then there was this stuff that looked a lot like mashed potatoes but it was cornmeal and gravy.

Back from the Swiss Alps, we went to Bern and Zurich and everywhere we could. It really is a beautiful country, but I'm not quick to forget that it is also a very expensive country 😊 Side note- Salome told me that Brad & Angelina are having a house built in Zurich...

It was a little rainy during my stay but that definately didn't phase me 😊 There is a lot of greenery, just like the northwest, which was great. Its very clean and very safe. Everyone rides the trains or bikes wherever they need to go, which was refreshing. There is also a river right behing Salome's house so I got to walk around and skip rocks in the river! We also had a blast at a fair that was going on in Salome's town. We met up with some friends, had a couple drinks and just hung out, it was really fun! The next day we had a bbq to celebrate Salome's birthday! Great times! It was a little awkward because not everyone speaks english and I certainly can't speak German (although I learned a couple words!), but altogether very fun just hanging out with a bunch of people.

After that I got to spend some time just relaxing with Salome and her family. Her dad has traveled a lot so we talked about his travels and he gave me some great recomendations!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Public MarketPublic Market
Public Market

Market in Evian.
RefreshingRefreshing
Refreshing

Washing my face in the water...
RainyRainy
Rainy

It was a bit rainy in Zurich, but beautiful nonetheless!
ZurichZurich
Zurich

Beautiful view from the University.
Roman RuinsRoman Ruins
Roman Ruins

This is an ancient roman amphitheatre. There is a lot of roman ruins here in Switzerland.
Creepy fountain in BernCreepy fountain in Bern
Creepy fountain in Bern

Legend that if kids don't behave this guy will come alive and eat them... Scary, actually!
Ice CreamIce Cream
Ice Cream

This is us on our way to get Ice Cream in this little town in Germany! Thats Salome's Dad.


Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb