The Swiss Alps


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
September 13th 2008
Published: September 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sitting in a little internet cafe in Lauterbrunnen at the foot of the Swiss Alps and I have to say it's been the most amazing day ever!!! Caught a train up to the top of Jungfrau, which it a little under four thousand meters is the tallest mountain in all of Europe! Was cold and snowy, but I didn't mind it a bit, as the sheer whiteness of it all was simply breathtaking.

Drove from Paris yesterday for most of the day and got to camp at around seven o'clock. Had a bite to eat and then it was off to a pub called "The Bomb Shelter" where us and two other groups partook in an 80's theme night. Apparently over here in Switzerland it is mandatory for every house to have a bomb shelter. All I can say is that I ever get bombed, I hope it is in a place like that. The drinks were free flowing all night and the company was second to none. Just spent the night getting our dance on and having a freaking ball.

As sexy as it is here, I personally think that Paris rivals it in breathtaking beauty, although in a totally different manner. The day and a bit that we spent just walking and driving around Paris was something that I'll never forget. Photos of such icons as the Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe and Notre Damme Cathedral just do not to it any justice. Could have easily just spent the day walking around, without actually going inside anywhere. The buildings and amazing statues are enough to keep anyone entertained. The only problem was that we did not have enough time there and I didn't get in to see the Louvre at all. I'll be coming back over to France next year for sure, and spending as much time as I can just walking around and soaking it all in.

Wish I had some photos to show you all, but our tent leaked the night before last, and most of my stuff got pretty soaked, including me camera!!! I'm making sure I can sneak into as many pics as I can though, so I'll be stealing everyone elses photos of Facebook when I get home.

Hope you are all having fun back in Oz, cause I'm having a freaking ball here.

Time to go drink some more Swiss beer!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0705s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb