SWISS ALPS!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

From Florence we drove along the coast of Italy, heading towards Switzerland. We drove past Lake Como and my jaws dropped. It was absolutely stunning, picture prefect and I totally understand why Gorge Clooney has a house there. The drive to Switzerland did not disappoint for a second, the scenery was amazing. Winding along the road where sea meets the mountain, waterfalls and vibrant green trees.

We stopped at town called Lucerne, it a small town with a population of about 57,000. Major tourist destination as it lies between the mountains, has a wicked lake and the stunning Chapel Bridge. Free time to explore the town, I opt to do it alone. I felt great here, the air was crisp and pollution free.

After exploring the streets I strike gold arches and had Maccas for lunch. It cost me $AUD12 for a Medium McChicken… YEAP! $12 AUSSIE DOOLAS! Went to the lake, sat down and enjoyed the view. Along came Cherry & Hill, they were more than happy to take some photos of me! Cherry decides to disturb wildlife by feeding my chips to the swan, was funny watching her scream as they approached.

That afternoon we drove into our camp site situated between massive mountains where water falls freely. The cabins weren’t too shabby, 3 girls & we had 8 beds. We drop our bags, explored the campsite and relaxed. Dinner that night was fantastic, BURGERS & CHIPS! Something everyone was craving and we all walked away feeling super good.

That night I decided to stay in and kicked back with Crystal, however that all changed when we drank too much vodka & OJ! Lets just say we stumbled over to the bar, bought a “few” more drinks and had the best time ever. That was when I was introduced to Vodka & Red Bull shots, deadly shots in cute bottles. A few of those and everyone was flying! All the boys in the bar took off their tops and running amok. That night ended on a good note, about 20+ drunks stumbling back to our cabins singing our song…
“Don’t stop me now I’m having such a good time
I’m having a ball don’t stop me now
If you wanna have a good time just give me a call
Don’t stop me now (cause I’m having a good time)”

The next day was free to do whatever you want; I slept for the first time in 15 days. It felt so great to wake up naturally and enjoy breakfast at your own pace. I sat down by the tree, read my book and also caught up on emails. Midday most was up and we ventured up one of the mountains to go behind a waterfall. The climb up was NOT EASY! It consisted of steep stairs, steps, hills and a tunnel. It all paid off when I was standing behind this awesome water fall, the cold water dripping on my head as I ascend. Standing up there and looking down was amazing! My second day in the Swiss Alps ended on another good note… more vodka, more shots and more friendships to be made.

Next destination… Paris


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb