Hotel Staubbach


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Lauterbrunnen
October 14th 2010
Published: October 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The hotel has free internet access! Every other place has been a struggle to pay for and finish before the timer ends.
Though it just kicked me off and I had already typed about 2 paragraphs in this blog. Oh well, I will start over!

So here we are in our hotel in Lauterbrunnen. We got here around 2 PM after a scenic train ride through the Swiss countryside. We traveled through Interlaken, which is a town in the middle of two lakes and at the base of the mountains. No words can describe how incredible the landscapes are here. Hills pop out of the land with steep inclines, houses look precariously perched on the slopes and cows and sheep defy gravity grazing on the grass that is still green, despite the temperatures of about 40 degrees F. The cloud cover is heavy and low, so the visibility is pretty low, but it makes it feel like we are at higher elevation. Or like we live in a different world up in the clouds somewhere.

Overall, I am pretty sure that it could be snowing, hailing and blowing volcano bits all over and this would still be the most beautiful place I have ever visited.

Everyone has been a bit more friendly here than in Zürich, which suits Justin and I just fine. We met some travellers from down under and they were pleasant as pie.

Justin has been enjoying the local beers, which have overall been pretty tasty, according to him. I picked up some local bread and jam and will be enjoying that very shortly in our room, which is huge and comfortable as an aside. Maybe with some of the complimentary Chamomile tea, as my throat is sore and horse, which I am hoping is just from the dry weather.

We ate at a local café, which we did not realize until after we ordered actually serves specifically to English Speakers. I ordered a mocha with soy, which was again some of the best coffee I have ever had. Funny enough it was expertly poured with a designed foam for about 3 Franks, just over 3 USD, which is hilarious as I paid 8 Franks for an effing soy latte at the Starbucks next to our hotel in Zürich. You live and learn I suppose.

Then we walked around the cute little downtown area, which is pretty tourist focused but it is still so charming with chalets and cobblestone that it does not matter at all.

Lauterbrunnen has this waterfall that sprinkles down from the top of a cliff. We were walking and it was just about dusk, so we decided we would try to find the base of it before the sun set. We were very lucky, and maybe a little crazy, to find it and hike it before it was too dark, but basically imagine the polar caves with a waterfall. In the foothills of the Alps. With Swiss chalets and old churches in a small town below you. Yes, that. Breathtaking yet again. This is where I got Elliot's Swiss rock from! It is very pretty. Tell her I love her muchly!

We were going to take a Gondola ride but it was closed early today. Maybe due to the cloud cover? But tomorrow we head out to Grindelwald, where we will ride the Gondola up to Mt. First (pronounced Feerst) and Trotti Bike down. What is trottibike, you wonder? Basically a motorized scooter for adults that rides at high speeds down the side of a mountain. Quite looking forward to that!

Swiss people are gorgeous. All of them.

Also today we took pictures of Justin pretending to pee in public. Really strategic placing of fountains pretty much all over Switzerland. A+.

My plan to buy used German books is not working out so well. The only book stores have been English! wtf mate. Oh well. Sometimes it is better not to plan 😊

Today was the first day of my life that I really understand what cowbells are for. I suppose Dad always had me thinking that they were meant to be musical instruments haha.

Well I love you all a whole damn lot and I wish that I could have packed you all in my suitcase so you could share this with me. But we will have some great pictures to share!

Advertisement



14th October 2010

Um yeah
Can you stop writing this awesome blogs? They are making me way too jealous! Haha jk jk. Much love and keep on rocking out!
14th October 2010

Kateparmenter@yahoo.com
Hi! This is Elliot I love all yuor blogs .I hope all yuor wishes aer coming true. I know mine are .I love you. I will see you soon. Love, Elliot.
15th October 2010

I love your blog
Ok ... so I am green with jealously and so happy and delighted for you all at the same time. I have heard from my friend Russell Jones who was a doc I worked with and now lives in Berlin. he would love to have you to dinner if your time permits while you are in berlin. Let me know and I will forward his info to you. I love you both. xoxox
15th October 2010

Elliot Chase moller
Hi This is Elliot agen I love how people can toc to you,
22nd October 2010

Elliot!
I misses you!!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb