Interlaken, Switzerland!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Interlaken
November 1st 2008
Published: November 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

What an AMAZING weekend!

Switzerland was by far my favorite place in Europe so far.

Interlaken was absolutely beautiful... I've been getting a little homesick lately... I think it's because I've been traveling so much, but also because all the places I've visited have been cities, I've missed being outdoors.

Hiking back home is one of my favorite autumn activities, so this trip came at exactly the right time. I went to Switzerland by myself a day early because Eddie and Rachel didn't want to leave thursday night.



I arrived Friday morning and after checking into my apartment, took the train to Lauterbrunnen, a town that has good hiking trails nearby. I hiked up to the town of Murren which looks over the famous triplet of mountains (Eiger 3970 m, Monch 4107 m, and Jungfrau 4158) these three peaks were completely covered in snow, and absolutely gorgeous. My first view of them came about an hour into my hike, and I almost dropped my camera... I looked to my left and realized that I was in an open field on the side of the mountain looking at these three majestic peaks...






To give you an idea of how tall these mountains were... the tallest mountains in the East Coast are 4-6 thousand FEET tall... These mountains were 4 thousand METERS tall!

As I continued hiking the views just kept getting better... I hiked up to Murren and then continued up to Gimmelwald, where I took the funicular down to Stechelberg. From Stechelberg I hiked back down through the valley that I had been looking over all day.












I got back around 5 and went to the market to get some groceries for dinner (we had a kitchen in the apt we were staying in)... Eddie and Rachel got in just as I was finishing cooking and we ate spaghetti and bruchetta.

The next day we woke up early to go hang gliding! Unfortunately there was a layer of fog covering the valley that we couldn't fly through... we waited for hours but had to give up around 1. We decided to go for a hike instead... wandering through the mountains surrounding Interlaken, we got some more great views, and played with some of the goats and cows which were EVERYWHERE.








After a day of hiking we found some delicious Indian food to rejuvenate our bodies... Down the street from the restaurant we found a bar that served hookah, or shisha as they call it in europe... A great ending to a superb weekend.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb