Gryon, Switzerland


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Gryon
November 12th 2008
Published: November 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So this weekend I decided last minute to go to Gryon, Switzerland instead of Belgium. I stayed in the "Chalet Martin" a Swiss alps retreat hostel. It felt more like a home than a hostel, with comfy beds, a nice kitchen, and a large sun room with couches. I met some interesting people, including a guy named Pinky who's hobby was cooking various types of meat. I witnessed rabbit, and pigeon, thankfully I left before he moved on to boars head.

Both the days I was there I hiked, and got some stunning views of the alps. Gryon was much more relaxed and laid back than Interlaken. Here are some of the photos I took...






When I got to the top of "La Croix" I found a giant crucifix... No doubt why they call it "La Croix"





Frost in the morning




My picnic lunch/feast





The small town of Taveyanne nestled in between mountains.






The alps by night... the Matterhorn can be seen on the far left.


Tomorrow I leave at 6:50 am for Galway and Dublin!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb