Travel time!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
June 26th 2008
Published: June 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I got to go into the ATLAS experiment! It was quite the experience. The security there is incredibly high. They actually have a system that only lets you in if you are verified via a retina scan. It took me three tries to figure out just how to stand, etc. so that my retina scan would work properly. Renato, my advisor, says it took him three tries on his first time too. I can't tell if he made that up to make me feel better or if that was actually the case. I tired to figure out how to get to the room I was in on the virtual tour online (http://atlasexperiment.org/), but it walks right past my door. If you want to get close, head to the tavern, take the elevator to level one, and the room I was in is through the doors to your left directly after you exit the elevator. I got to see some of the electronics involved with the photomultiplier tubes and lazer system. Then, Renato let me run some data. You might be wondering how this is possible since beams have not started circulating at ATLAS yet. This works because ATLAS has a simulation of the trigger system that will connect with the lazer system. Taking runs was actually quite boring, but it was cool to get to see circuitry. I write "cool" both figuratively and literally, because the ATLAS cavern is one of the few places in CERN that is air-conditioned. This is due to the electronics system, which needs a stable temperature and humidity.
My desire to travel has finally gotten the best of me and my wallet. Tomorrow after work, I am taking a train to Interlaken, Switzerland. I will wake up Saturday morning and go paragliding. I am already getting nervous for this because I have a slight fear of heights. However, I keep reminding myself that at least I am not one of the REU students who will be skydiving! On the 4th of July weekend, 4 of the boys from the REU and I are going to Paris. Then, on the weekend of the 11th, I will be going to Munich with Chen and Brandi. On the Weekend of the 25th I will be in Barcelona with 5 boys from the REU. Finally, for the weekend of the 9th I will be going to Milan with Jake and Chen. We have all of the train/plane/hotels booked except for the hotel for Paris, which we will be booking this weekend. While we won't exactly be staying at 5 star resorts, I am looking forward to seeing as much of Europe as I possibly can! The only thing I'm nervous about is making three trips, Milan, Paris, and Barcelona, with all boys. Hopefully they won't be too messy 😊


Advertisement



27th June 2008

That sounds like so much fun. Sadly, Milan, although high-fashion is not exactly the best tourist spot. I've heard there's some good architecture but it is also kind of a gross and smoggy city (most of the Italian cars are produced in/near Milan). Sorry I missed your call, I was at work and had my phone on silent. Next time you should e-mail me before you call so I can be prepared.
27th June 2008

hang gliding
Hang gliding sounds great!! So quiet... The view should be really good too... Do all these scary and physically demanding things now while you can, you'll never, never, never forget them. I'm soooo glad I went sky diving while I could (it might not be for you!), I think of that SILENCE and wonderful VIEW often...I'll not be able to do it now, so I'm glad I did it then, even if other folks think it's kindof "wierd".

Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0831s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb