Has Canadian Weather Invaded Geneva?!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva » La Plaine
February 6th 2012
Published: February 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The Heavenly White Stuff.The Heavenly White Stuff.The Heavenly White Stuff.

It very much still looks like this in our neighbourhood.
Well, over the last week, I have to say that I have been feeling more at home. The cold has come - and stayed and the snow has stayed for longer than 2 days. The snow has been here for a week and it shows no signs of disappearing. To me, this is a welcome change. Finally, winter has come. To the citizens of the canton of Geneva, it is the worst cold spell since 1985/1986. I guess that they can blame this cold snap on me. I must have brought the Canadian weather with us to Geneva.

For me it is normal winter weather. For my colleagues, it is colder than a cold-certified Coors Light can. Just to give you an idea, Saturday was -10 degrees with a windchill of -17 degrees. When I was biking home from school Friday, I was going against huge winds. I can relate to Bob Seger, "Still pedalling against the wind," or something like that.

At school, I am still wearing my normal outfit - a short-sleeved shirt and a tie. However, my colleagues are all bundled up in sweaters and layers. It is a good point of discussion. I guess no matter where you are in the world, you can always talk about the weather.

To complete this week in Canadian fashion, I am taking my students skating to an outdoor rink in Meyrin. I have a few big talkers in my class, always boasting about their athletic prowess. We will see how much they boast after they do a little skating! All kidding aside, I am looking forward to doing this with my class.

Jarod

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb