All Roads Lead to Rome!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva » La Plaine
January 30th 2012
Published: January 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Chip Sport.Chip Sport.Chip Sport.

When I got my skates sharpened, I noticed that they had a chair from the old Montreal Forum. I visited the Forum in 1986 so I thought that I would get photos of Myles and Isabelle on the seat.
Over the past couple of weeks we have been trying to plan our holidays for the rest of the year. Here, I am blessed to have a fair bit of holidays. I have a week off in February, a week and a half off in April and then we will be in Europe for the month of July as well.

So, for 4 days during my week off in February, we have decided to go to Rome. I think that this will be a good time to go - it won't be so hot. I think that Italy is quite hot in the summer. I can't believe that it will be a little under 2 weeks and then we will be in Rome. We are definitely excited.

Saturday, Avery got her hair done, so the kids and I were doing errands. I got my skates sharpened and then we did some grocery shopping. The kids liked the spin-o-ramas that I was giving them in the grocery cart. As we left the shopping centre, it was so bright and sunny. I was thinking to myself that we live in such a beautiful region of Switzerland. We live by the Rhone river, there are grapevines all around, the Jura mountains are close by and the Alps are in the background. Out of all of the places that we have seen in Switzerland, this region is still my favorite. It is so peaceful here.

Last night I was able to reconnect with Mark Blankenstyn. They have been in Holland for almost 3 years and he has been teaching there. It was great to catch up with him as it has been at least 8 years since we last talked. He is a friend from our old church and university. We will try and get together with them at some point before we leave to go back to Canada.

I just recently discovered a new song that we have sung a couple times at church. It is called 10 000 reasons by Matt Redman. It is such an uplifting song - I listened to it at least 10 times today.

When I got home from school today, I noticed that Isabelle had a big bandaid on her hand. I asked what happened and I guess that when Isabelle was in her carseat and Myles was climbing into his, he went over and bit Isabelle for no apparent reason. Now Isabelle has a big gash on her hand. Nothing like sibling affection!

Jarod

Advertisement



1st February 2012

WE LOVED ROME!
Have an awesome time in Rome, Jarod - it was our favourite Italian city! We had our best tiramisu there so taste away!!!! The restaurant was called Gallino Bianco, I think.... Also, go to Villa Borghese - it was our best day by far: beautiful park, with paddle boats and outdoor gardens and cafes....lots for the kids to see and do! Trevi Fountain is also a sight to see.......take lots of pictures!!!
4th February 2012

All roads lead to Rome
Ouch!! Poor Isabelle!

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb