Grateful for the Little Things!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva » La Plaine
October 3rd 2011
Published: October 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

One little tradition that we have adopted over here is to say one thing that we are thankful for at supper time. Afterwards, for a little prayer, we sing Johnny Appleseed. This little tradition proved to be useful tonight.

This morning, on my bike ride to school, the fog was as bad as it's been since we arrived. Nonetheless, I felt confident on my ride to school because of the purchases that I had made last Wednesday. I had the lights on the bike, I was wearing my helmet and I was wearing my bright yellow reflective vest. Everything was fine until I arrived in Chancy and had to deal with the morning rush hour. In Chancy, I was nearing the little grocery store and noticed that the bus K had stopped to pick up some people. There were cars parked to my right and the cars behind the bus were not waiting for the bus. They decided to pull out around the bus. The problem - that left no room for me on my bike. I had to make a quick decision and veer to the right of the parked cars. The second problem - the fog was so
Self explanatory.Self explanatory.Self explanatory.

I think that this was at Signal de Bougy.
thick that I didn't notice the curb right in front of me. The result - I hit the curb with the front tire and I was kind of jerked off of the bike. Besides being a little surprised, I thought that everything was fine. That was until I went out to the bike this evening after school. The front tire was completely flat and I had to walk the bike home. So, instead of 10-15 minutes to get home, it took me 30 minutes and I was completely soaked with sweat. So, what was I thankful for tonight? I was thankful that Denis has a second bike and that he has an extra tube so that I can fix the front tire of his bike.

Anyways, we had a good weekend. My mom was here, so that permitted Avery and I to go for a little hike Saturday and have some time to ourselves. It was nice. We went into France, Léaz to be exact, and did some hiking in the forests of the Jura mountains. Afterwards, we went to Fort l'Ecluse and then walked down by the Rhône river. We were thankful that mom was here.

I am excited for tomorrow. I get to take my students to Pronatura (Epeisses). It is a nature outing by our apartment. I look forward to observing nature with my students.

Lastly, last Friday, Avery, my mom and the kids went to Lac Annecy again. This time they were able to go on a boat ride of the lake and then they went back into the Old Town to eat some ice cream. I must say that it must be nice. They get to frolic around enjoying themselves while I'm at work. Such is life I guess!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Annecy.Annecy.
Annecy.

A beautiful old town.
Lac Annecy.Lac Annecy.
Lac Annecy.

A private castle on the lake.
Ruins?Ruins?
Ruins?

We saw this old car on our hike in the forests of the Jura.
Fort l'Ecluse.Fort l'Ecluse.
Fort l'Ecluse.

The fort is about half way up that mountain.


21st October 2011

such is life ....
I was reading your blog to Brian and he wants you to know that he feels for you. Many years ago, a classmate of his, when asked what he would like to comeback as responded, " a dentists' (teachers etc) wife". After all, we women do have all the fun! PS The classmate is Morman and has many kids!!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb