Lake Neuchatel and Estavayer-le-lac


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Fribourg
August 18th 2009
Published: August 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today I started having mountain fever and decided to go on my own adventure. I got in my little manual car and headed down to Lake Neuchatel. I needed some time at the beach, swimming in real water, not hot springs. Lake Neuchatel is the only lake in Switzerland that is completely in Switzerland. I ended up in the medieval village of Estavayer-le-lac ... knicknamed "City of the Rose". The beach and the lake were incredible ... I was surrounded by murmuring french and spent the afternoon watching children trampolining into the water. I wandered around Estavayer, which was completely charming. I ended up in an old fortress ... the odd part was I was the only person around! I suppose they were all at the beach. The town is known for it's frogs ... yes, frogs, hanging all over the town ... painted in various colors. I meanandered by myself around the fort and down the windy little streets.

I am finding that I am becoming quite comfortable with this mountain. I can zoom around hairpin curves without cringing and have finally learned when to be in second gear and when it's ok to move all the way to third. Switzerland is quite navigable and I am learning enough French to feel confident traveling on my own.

The days are actually coming to and end ... I have taught all of 3 hours since I have been here. This summer I have realized that it truly isn't about the money or the job. It's about having this amazing opportunity to immerse myself in other cultures. I have a trip to Interlaken planned in a couple of days and am pretending the summer isn't about to end. However, I suppose this is something I can't quite stop from happening ...


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb