The birds and the bees....and buses


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-East » Lugano
June 30th 2011
Published: June 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We had a really hilarious hike to Morcote with a group of students on Tuesday. It was originally called the Morcote hike (understandably so) but I have renamed it the Birds and the Bees hike. Halfway through the walk, all the boys gathered around a bush and started snickering. One of them grabs at the bush, turns around and reveals two butterflies....um....commingling. For the next mile this Italian boy is exclaiming ridiculous things at the top of his lungs about these butterflies. Picture it in an Italian accent...."They-uh are having sex-uh on my hand-uh!" and "Do you think-uh they are-uh doing it-uh because they like-uh it?!" Then, as we finally got him to put the two butterflies down, we round the next corner to be walking right next to one horse mounting another. We totally lost them at that point. It was really pretty hilarious.

I think we need an American reality TV show about Swiss charter buses. The things they do are incredible. It reminds me of the Knight bus in Harry Potter where the bus stretches and shrinks to fit between alleys and such. Not only that, but with 40 screaming kids on board. Really though, I always think we are about to crash and voila!...we escape the seemingly impossible squeeze.

I find the tow trucks and construction vehicles with Mercedes symbols on the front to be kind of comical.

You know you haven't really traveled until you eat something disgusting without knowing it. Yesterday I was eating a sandwich that I was not enjoying. The meat looked like roast beef but was sour tasting and bitter. The muslim and jewish students wanted to know what kind of meat it was so that they could eat it, and thus I came to find out that it was horse. Yes, as in Mr. Ed, Black Beauty, My Little Ponies, and The Last Unicorn rolled into one....my childhood was in my mouth. Now, I'm not against foreign food. I have tried alligator, duck brains, frog legs, intestines and liver.....but horse is a different story. Long story short, I couldn't finish my dinner and now I'm going to avoid the Italian "roast beef".

On a brighter note, Christopher and I got the same weekend off at the end of July and are going to try and spend it in Venice!!!!

That's all for now folks! I'm going to go have nightmares about slaughtering Black Beauty.

Andrea

Advertisement



1st July 2011

Horse in Europe
Andrea, I am a friend of your Mom and Dads and have done alot of travel in Europe. Horse has been on the menu several time as I traveled and I did get it down (Beer is a wonderful thing) but I just couldn't enjoy it. In Italy you can leave it on the plate and get away with it, but in Slovenia and Croatia it would be a serious offense. Enjoy your time in Europe

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb