Day 3


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Lucerne
May 24th 2009
Published: May 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This morning we started out by going to a cheese factory. The trip to get there was an adventure in itself. The winding hills, and driver who I think learned to drive a stick shift yesterday, were not a good combination on some people's tummys to say the least. When we finally figured out how to get there after turning around several times, I knew we were in for a treat. The struggle to get there was well worth it. Hans IV was so fun to listen to and so passionate about his cheese. He showed us what all it took to make cheese in his little cheese factory he had connected to his house in Seelisberg. His dad, who was once in charge of the company was an energetic old man and you could just tell how happy everyone was in that family. The cheese he served us with the apple juice made by his cousin was by far the best cheese and juice I have ever tasted. I wish I could take it all home with me to share with everyone. I look forward to sending Hans the pictures we took with him. He was such a nice man!

We then headed down to the city of Lucerne. We got to tour around the city and learn the history behind it all. This was very interesting. I loved the Chapel Bridge and I hate that it burned down, but they did a fabulous job restoring it. The city has so much character to it. Alot of the stores were closed today because it was Sunday, so I am anxious to see how busy it is on a weekday. The lion at the end of the tour was probably my favorite thing. The work that went into that statue/carving was so precise and you could just see the lion's sadness. After our tour, we got some free time to just roam around. I went with Arabella, Vanessa, Brent and Mrs. Bradley down to the lake front and at some of the best veal bratwurtz ever made. There was a huge botche ball tournament going on and it was fun to watch how intense everyone was.

After leaving Lucerne we headed back to Engelberg for a much needed rest. I got to just lay in bed and close my eyes for a couple of hours.

At 7:30 we all hopped back in the vans to head up to the top of the mountain. Up there we had dinner at a small family style restaurant. We started out with a salad topped with some amazing dressing, followed by the pasta and apple sauce, and finishing everything off with strawberry and vanilla ice cream. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was so fun. I got to pet a cow and look down at the little town of Engelberg from way up high. After dinner was all over, we lit some torches and hiked down the mountain, carefully placing our feet ever step we took to ensure we didn't fall.

All in all it was yet another amazing day in Switzerland. And once again I am so ready for tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb