Full on cold.


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Lucerne
July 27th 2008
Published: July 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Cold as in, blowing my nose like every 3 minutes. I think the people on the train were starting to get annoyed, besides the old Swiss/German/French (you never can tell) lady that kept smiling and talking to us even though we did nothing to respond other than nod our heads and smile... she was so cute. Actually all old people here are cute! I'm a few days behind on the blog as we are leaving Salzberg today but no worries I will not miss a thing! When we arrived in Lucerne, I was not in the best state but walking out of the train station and seeing different colored buildings along the clear blue river with bridge after bridge with flowers decorating the sides, I forgot about my cold for a second! When we got to the hotel, we had a view of more cute buildings with green hills in the background. It was priceless. Although I felt like getting into bed, I forced myself to walk around the town. Our favorite thing to do so far seems to be going to the grocery store. This time, we found marijuana tea and took a picture. What the heck is that??? We have also been getting wine to drink while we get ready, and in Lucerne we got Cotes du Rhone and Brodeaux wine (Stef!!! - we traveled through the region two years ago - the wine is so good). We ate baquette sandwhiches along the river, visited this carved out lion in the mountain wall, and I took lots pics of Rob because of my Rudolf nose I didn't want to be in any pics! For dinner we went to a Mexican restaurant (I know, but I have been away from home for 3 weeks now and am missing being able to eat whatever I want!!) But the funny thing is that I ordered Rosti (the waitress told me it was potatoes) and out comes hashbrowns with lettuce, tomato, and cheese on top. It was actually really good, but funny that I got that at a Mexican restaurant. Our bill was 50 bucks for 2 entrees and a coffee (oh I forgot to say that I stopped at the Apothekare and got medicine that totally made me feel wierd so at dinner I needed to have coffee to keep me awake!!) so anyway we decided it was back to the granola bars the next day. 😊 I know everyone thinks we are cheap but it becomes a lot to spend every lunch and dinner time - wait until you hear about the piece hostel we stayed at in Salzberg, stay tuned for that funness! So after dinner, guess where we ended up? That's right, a music festival!! I don't know what's with the Swiss and their music but it's alright with us! Drank our wine on the river edge again listening to local tunes. I guess Macy Gray and The Neville brothers were here too. They had food from all over at booths there, Indian, Chinese, etc.
The next day I woke up and decided that was my last dose of the medicine. I felt like the world was spinning, and to make matters worse, our morning was to be spent on all sorts of modes of transportation! We were going to visit Mt. Pilatus and this computer won't let me download a picture but you can go to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mount_Pilatus to see it. From Lucerne, we took a beautiful boat ride that stopped alongside various little towns and rode the world's steepest cogwheel train up the side to get to the top of the 7000 ft mountain. Once up top, it was amazing. If you look at the picture it shows a hotel, apparently you can stay overnight there, Rob thought you'd get bored with nothing to do which I agree, but it would be novel for awhile! We hiked up a quick path and it was really hard to breathe being up that high and with the crazy medicine I decided to sit the next one out on a beach chair and sip my coffee. When Rob got back we had our lunch of cheese, bread, and wine (see we were finally prepared). Took a cable car back down (scary at first but so cool) and the city bus back to Lucerne. We met a guy Rob knows through work at the Swiss Transport Museum, I guess they have played their IMAX movies there but nothing was currently playing so we didn't see one. Christian told us all about life in Switzerland, that they do make more but it is super expensive. That night we decided to get dinner at the music festival!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb