Interlaken, Jungfrau


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Gimmelwald
July 12th 2010
Published: July 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wow, amazing scenery in this area of the world. Arrived in Interlaken to be treated with a beautiful , clear, hot day and decided to take the journey to the top or Europe- Jungfrau. A two hour journey beginning in hot 30 degrees in Interlaken and 5 degrees by the time I reached the top. Snow galore- amazing views and many photos to be taken. Very exciting! Had to take 45 minutes out when I arrived at the top as I had altitude sickness as we were at above 3000m. A very expensive meal later, after getting some sugar into me I explored the top. The ice palace was very cool with many ice sculptures even the floors were made from ice so it was the closest I will ever get to ice skating.

A few hours later I made the trek back down to the bottom on the train stopping off a Gimmelwald, a small beautiful town surrounded by the towering snow capped alps- very picturesque!

The next day I took a short train ride to Lauterbrunnen, another small village on the way to the alps. From here I visited the Trummelbach Falls which are glacier waterfalls inside the mountain- very loud powerful falls.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb