Bears and Beer in Bern


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Berne
September 7th 2010
Published: September 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

On my way to Bern I stopped off in Zurich for a couple of hours to have a look around. The Swiss say Zurich is the worst city in Switzerland, people from Zurich think it's the best, so i was intregrued to see it. I followed the walk on my map and it took me to the river, through the cute winding streets on the edge of the river, and to the lake at the end. The buildings were nice, the weather fine, and the people out and about, so I had no problems enjoying myself in Zurich! Then it started to rain so I had to dodgethe raindrops a bit as I walked though the town on the other side. Even in the rain Zurich isn't such a bad city! I got some dinner and afterwards I headed off to Bern.

In Bern I stayed with Patrik, a lovely Swiss German guy. When we got to his house he took me straight out to the neighbours who was having a party. Patrik's housemate Dominik was really drunk and hilarious and kept talking to me about London and how much he loves it! We drank some German beer because the guy who's birthday it was is German. We didn't stay long but went home (with drunken Dominik in tow), had a chat and went to sleep. Patrik's house is huge, 3 floors, and I slept on a really comfy sofa!

Next morning I went out to explore Bern. It is such a beautiful town. The main street from the station has so many pretty buildings, flowers, cobbled roads. I saw the Parliament building, with a fantastic view out the front. It was a gorgeous day so I could see the Alps in the distance. I wandered around for a long time, and went in the Munster (cathedral) to climb the tower. Again the views were amazing, I was up there for ages!

Right at the end of the main street is a bridge crossing the Aare. Just on the other side is an enclosure housing 4 bears. The enclosure goes down the hill with the river at the bottom, with a bit cordoned off for the bears to swim in. I went to the bottom to dip my feet in the river for a while - it is freezing, glacial water from the Alps and so fast, I have never seen such a fast river. I found out that earlier that morning a girl had fallen into the river from the spot where I was (they did save her), and when I went back another day it was all fenced off, so impossible to dip your feet now. While I was down there the mother and two baby bears woke up and went for a swim. I watched them for ages they are so cute!

Then I decided to go for a walk up the hill caled Murten. I could have got a funicular but decided a walk would be better. It took me about a hour and a half to get to the top but it was such a great walk, right through woods and farmland, loads of cows around with cowbells jangling. And the views over Bern and of the Alps were stunning, I loved that walk! At the top I lay on the grass for a long time and gazed at the view, before heading down again. There are lots of activities for kids, parks and restaurants at the top so I walked through towards the funicular, and took a more direct route down. I guess the walk down took about one hour but was mostly through woods and not as interesting!


It was Patrik's birthday that day so he had a party in the evening. He has a huge roof terrace in his house so we all sat up there. His mum and sister made loads of food platters and brought them over, and I met his dad and brother, and loads of his friends as well. I got on really well with his brother, Stefan, and sister, Sarah, I was speaking to them most of the night! The whole family is really lovely! Sarah and I arranged to meet the next day and go for a hike in the mountains.

We went to Grindlewald, which is a really pretty little place in a valley of the Alps, pretty touristy but with those lovely Swiss chalet houses you see everywhere. We hiked up the side of the mountain, it was baking hot and a pretty difficult walk, and mostly on roads so not that great. But then we got to a certain point and we were in the woods, there was a stream to wash our hands, it was cool and quiet, and a proper hiking trail, much better! Sarah and I had a good chat, she told me about her family and about the history of Bern, we chatted loads it was so good! She is training to be an air steward and gets loads of perks for the job, it sounds like a great way to travel. After that we headed down and got the train back, we were pretty exhausted, but happy!

But that was no where near the end of my day! When I got back to Patrik's he took me straight back out again and to the river for a swim. It is the thing that everyone does in Bern, there is an area where you get in the river and float down, and they put handlebars on the sides so you can get back out. It was about 7pm and so many people were doing it! The water was freezing but it was so nice just laying there and floating along. As I said the river is really fast so you go so quickly along, great fun!

After that I was even more exhausted and starving, so Patrik took me out for some fondue! We went to a great little restaurant and had a mixed fondue, with bread and potatoes, and they give you a little glass of schnaps to dip your bread in before dipping it in the cheese, it was soooo good!!! And of course we drank it with white wine, and had a cup of tea and sat outside afterwards, and had a chat. Patrik is such a great host and I had a proper Swiss day that day; hiking in the Alps, swimming in the Aare, and eating fondue, can't get much more Swiss than that!

Unfortunately my card messed up so I won't be able to put photos on until I get home sorry!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0901s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb