Zurich, Switzerland


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Zürich
July 26th 2006
Published: February 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

For my first month of flying, I was put on standby flights only. On my first day, the standby shift started at 5am, so I went to bed in good time the night before, and attempted to get some sleep despite the nervous butterflies fluttering around in my stomach. As I drifted in and out of sleep, worried that I might sleep through the sound of the phone ringing next to my ear and miss my first flight, I was mid-dream at 5:07am when the phone actually started ringing. No time wasted. I was needed!

When I answered the phone, I was told two things; one - I would be picked up in 45 minutes, and two - I was going to Zurich. Easy enough, however, after hanging up, I suddenly panicked and my mind went blank... where on earth was Zurich??? I knew where it was but for the life of me I couldn't remember. Did I need to pack a suitcase for a few days away? Or would I be laughed at if I arrived at the Crew Briefing Centre, fully packed for a 2.5 hour turn-around flight? Did I need clothes for warm weather or cold weather? The only thing I could do was phone my constant lifesaver, Dominic. Time was ticking away, and as his phone rang and rang to no avail, time seemed to suddenly speed up and I needed to get ready!! I tried again and still no answer. Why was he such a heavy sleeper?!

I ran out of my room, down the hall to the kitchen and put on the kettle. As I returned to my room, I suddenly noticed the HUGE map of the world on the wall outside of my flatmates room. Thank goodness for that! I was able to find Zurich (in Switzerland), and in an instant my panic changed to excitement. I was going to Switzerland!

We arrived in Zurich at 2pm, and the temperature was a beautiful +27 degrees C. I was excited to get going and see the sights, so after a quick shower and change at the hotel, a girl from my crew and I hopped on the train, and headed to the city centre. We walked through the streets, admiring the many shops and outdoor cafes, full of people enjoying the afternoon sun.

We ended up at Lake Zurich (Untersee), just in time to catch the afternoon boat ride which lasted 1.5 hours and was the perfect way to see the town of Zurich. We ordered a beer onboard, and sat on the top deck enjoying the sights and sounds of a perfect summers day.

The next morning, after a good nights sleep, I awoke with a few hours to spare before the crew wake-up call at 1pm. It was another beautiful day in Zurich and I wanted to be outside in the fresh air. Not far from the hotel I discoverd a running trail which took me into the countryside. It was a shock coming from Dubai, to suddenly be thrown into such a rural landscape. Other people were out, walking their dogs, riding bicycles, and even riding horses. It was breathtakingly beautiful and I was overwhelmed with happiness to witness all of it.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb