The euro-winter


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Zürich
March 11th 2008
Published: March 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day-endDay-endDay-end

The view toward Anja's place at the base of Brigels
I've managed to fit a bit of snowboarding around a lot of working since I've been back. at the moment I'm sitting on a train to Zurich, full from dinner, and feeling pretty well worn after joining a few other ex-T&Ters for a weekend on the slopes of Lenzerheide. It's pretty good, but I'm still without a solid source of funding for work, so despite the full stomach and tired legs I'm still a bit stressed.

You can only do so much though. Of the 6 weeks i've been back I've spent 2.5weekends working (a conference, and a huge EU proposal), and 3.5 weekends at least partly on the slopes. Flimserberg, Brigels, Andermatt, Lenzerheide, I'm yet to go back to the same field.. or with the same people come to think of it - hopefully not a reflection of my company 😊 By some extremely good fortune, and despite many forecasts, we've spent a good chunk of our days scouting fresh powder runs under blue mountain skies.

Not much to say about work, it's winter - I'm stuck at my desk. It's pretty interesting research, but confusing at the same time. And of course there's the uncertainty floating round
HonggHonggHongg

A pretty typical view of the Zurich suburb
in the background - maybe i'll be packing my rapidly accumulating toys and moving on again in 6 months time... I've collected a lot - best not think about it 😉 We've just submitted a proposal to the EU as part of a consortium from Germany, Poland, Romania, Bulgaria, Italy... Iraq(!).. the list goes on. We're asking for 8mil Euro, the process has been pretty enlightening to say the least, but I'm not counting on seeing the money. I much prefer being on the other side, getting other peoples tenders to evaluate - rather than seeing how much work and stress goes into them.

I'm off to Poland for a week at Easter.. 15hrs on a bus each way, but it'll be great to get back - and to be in Eastern Europe again. I'm finding it much harder to write while either home alone, or travelling with others - so to those of you who've been on tenderhooks since my last drivel - apologies. Hopefully with 30hrs bustime, the next ones won't be so generously spaced.




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

HaslibergHasliberg
Hasliberg

My favourite field to date
TwinsTwins
Twins

Anja and I strike matching poses at Brigels


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb