My Wife Gives Me Two Weeks Off For Good Behavior Every Year-Scandinavia-Summer 2011


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden
August 11th 2011
Published: June 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Thursday, August 11, 2011

Rode from Grasmark to Filipstad. I found where all of the mountains have been hiding! There were too many to count. I did very well. I left this morning at 9:40ish, and pedaled to Munkfors I stopped to use the computer at the tourist info shop. With a different keyboard it was very difficult. I tried to download my pics on Facebook, but I couldn't get it to work. I ended up emailing the pics to a few people.

Later I rode through to Sunnemo on 241' then onto Filipstad. The mnts here are long, gradual, & never ending. I took them in stride. At the end I shot out from Munkfors to Filipstad. The final 9 km on 63 took it all out of me! I don't listen to my own advice & have to learn things at least twice. I need to stop to eat lunch. One can of tuna didn't do it. Once I ate, I was fine.

I finally found a town in Sweden where I wouldn't want to live. Filipstad is beginning to look rundown. I saw my first major punk. A heavy girl who was walking her dog had piercings on her face in three places. There were people, adults and teens hanging out on the streets, and graffiti.

I went to an Italin restaurant which was run by Turks. It wasn't terrible, but I wouldn't call it good. My Amex really hasn't worked in too many place. The people here highly prefer Swedish kr. My Capital One acct is down to $14. Since Capital One is the only credit card company I know of which doesn't charge an exchange fee, I put @ $1,250 so I can use it. I hope this and my cash will get me across. I thought I was ok, but this Amex problem is a problem.

I wish I could get the iPad & phone wifi to work. There is a drunk who walks around with a fishing pole here at the campground. When he comes, everyone runs!

Everyone has been very supportive. I miss Kathy. I always ask myself, "Have I outgrown these trips?". I think about the woman I met in Newark airport who told me of a guy she knew who went away on a bike trip to Colorado. He bought hi wife jewelry. When she met him at the airport she broke up with him. It gives you something to think about. Off to call kathy. I'll plan my trip later. It's 10:15.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb